Review Requests

Thanks for your interest in By The Book! I accept Christian fiction for review. I do review, on a limited basis, clean reads (that means no profanity or sexually explicit scenes. No erotica!) I also accept, on a very limited basis, non-fiction — I love a story, so no self-help. Please see below the categories of books I accept. Due to family commitments in the Fall and Winter of 2016/17, I have limited space in my schedule for reviews.

 

Preferred Categories in Christian Fiction:

Contemporary/Women’s Fiction

Historical Fiction

Historical Romance Fiction

Literary Fiction

Mystery/Suspense Fiction

Speculative Fiction (though I am not keen on zombie cowboys šŸ˜‰ )

 

Guidelines for requests:

Please include the following: a summary of your book, the release date, and a picture of the cover. Any links to further information is appreciated as well.

Expected time frame for review. Please note: I generally need a 3+ month turn around from the time I receive your book until the review is posted.

I will also consider an author interview or a guest post.

Preferred format is paper or hardback book. Any ebook files must be in mobi.

 

What you get:

An honest and unbiased review of your book here on the blog. Includes links to author website, social media, and a link to purchase the book.

If I like or love or really love your book, the review will have a recommended, highly recommended, or very highly recommended designation. If I do not like your book, I will not say “not recommended”. There just won’t be any designation.

Review posts on Goodreads, Amazon, Library Thing, FB, Twitter and Pinterest.

 

Disclaimer:

I appreciate your interest in my blog, however, I cannot accept all requests. IĀ reserve the right to accept or decline a book. Any number of reasons could contribute to my decision — scheduling conflicts, does not fit my readers’ preferences, not a genre I read, includes zombie cowboys (seeĀ preferred genres above) etc. I will respond to all requests within a week of receipt. If I accept your book for review, I will express my honest opinion. I endeavor to do so in a kind manner. If your book has profanity (I am from the South, so that includes cuss/swear/curse/words my mother would wash my mouth out with soap if I said), then it will be noted.Ā 

 

Thanks again for your interest! If I have not scared you away, then please fill out the contact form.

 

Contact Form

Ā 





17 Responses to “Review Requests”

  1. Meghan Wilson August 2, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Hello,

    How would I submit a request for a book review?

    Thank you,
    Meg Wison

    Like

    • rbclibrary August 2, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      I have sent you an email asking for more info.

      Like

  2. Evelyn Puerto November 30, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Greetings,
    How would I go about requesting a review for my book?

    Many thanks,
    Evelyn Puerto

    Like

  3. Jen Hertl July 19, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Hi Beckie, I was great meeting you at ICRS, when you interviewed my “can’t be described in one word” sister, Courtney. I can’t wait to hear what you think of her fun Christian Romance, “The Wooing of Jane Grey”. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Jennifer

    Like

    • rbclibrary July 19, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Great meeting the both of you. I look forward to reading her novel. I also anticipate many more from Courtney.

      Like

      • Jen Hertl July 19, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

        That is so sweet!! Thanks Beckie for the kind words. Enjoy your reading!!! Jennifer

        Like

  4. Charleen Famigleitti December 6, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Hi,

    How can I go about submitting a request for reviews?

    Thanks,
    Charleen

    Like

    • rbclibrary December 6, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      I have sent you an email. Thanks for inquiring.

      Like

  5. Eddie Thompkins March 19, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    My name is Eddie Thompkins, author of the novel Mogadishu Diaries Bloodlines. Mogadishu Diaries (two-part series) is based on my personal experience as a US Marine peacekeeper during Operation Restore Hope from 9 December 1992 until 21 March 1993. Mogadishu Diaries is a novel which captures: the pursuit of a beloved and revered warlord, the disarming an entire community and its unintended consequences, my conscience vs. the Rules of Engagement, and my courtship of a beautiful Somali interpreter named Ayan.

    I would be honored for you to review my book.

    My book is free of charge on Smashwords.

    https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/280632

    Book Trailer

    Kind Regards,

    Eddie Thompkins
    GySgt USMC (ret)

    Like

    • rbclibrary March 20, 2013 at 6:46 am #

      Eddie,

      Thanks for your inquiry. I will look at the book and decide if it is something that I would review. (My criteria is generally Christian, no strong profanity and no adult scenes.)

      Like

  6. liz upton November 22, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    If you have time, will it be possible for you to read my book Finding Hope it’s a christian inspirational romance.

    Like

    • rbclibrary November 23, 2013 at 7:25 am #

      Liz, if you will email me info about the book, I will certainly consider it. msudawgtooATcomsouthDOTnet

      Like

  7. JM Barclay June 26, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    Could I request a review? šŸ™‚

    Like

  8. eekmystery2014 July 7, 2015 at 12:32 pm #

    I would be glad to send you an advance copy of INCOMPLETE SENTENCE, the 4th book in my Miss Prentice cozy mystery series about a high school English teacher, if you would like to review it. While not exactly evangelistic, it is openly Christian in tone and world view. My website is http://www.missprenticecozymystery.com

    Like

    • rbclibrary July 7, 2015 at 1:26 pm #

      I have read and reviewed books 1 & 2 in your series. I will email you about book #4.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: