Tag Archives: Kimberly Woodhouse

Top 10 Tuesday — Cover Love

8 May

Favorite color is the theme of Top 10 Tuesday this week, either in title or cover. While looking at covers, I found so many lovely gowns in a rainbow of colors that I couldn’t resist featuring them. So this post goes in a slightly different direction, but don’t you love the dresses featured on these historical romances?! Make sure you visit That Artsy Reader Girl to discover the color favorites of other bloggers.

All The Pretty Dresses!

 

 

Which cover is your favorite?

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday — Highly Anticipated Books!

1 May

This week’s TTT theme is Books I’d Slay A Lion to Get Early. Well . . . I am definitely a book fanatic fan, but not sure I would do bodily harm to anything to get my hands on a coveted book. That’s mainly because I still have a huge stack of unread books from the last list of highly anticipated reads. I have all intentions of reading them, but in the meantime I am content to hold and gaze adoringly at them. LOL! So I will just list ten of the most anticipated books of the next few months.

Make sure to head over to That Artsy Reader Girl to find out what other bloggers are willing to risk mayhem to acquire.

10 Highly Anticipated Novels of June, July, and August 2018

Before I Saw You by Amy K. Sorrells

Called to Protect by Lynette Eason

The Captured Bride by Michelle Greip

Dead Drift by Dani Pettrey

Formula of Deception by Carrie Stuart Parks

The House at Saltwater Point by Colleen Coble

The Love Letter by Rachel Hauck

Minding The Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The Patriot Bride by Kimberly Woodhouse

The Sons of Blackbird Mountain by Joanne Bischof

 

What books are you anticipating?

 

 

Book Review: The Mayflower Bride

8 Feb

A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees.

Mary Elizabeth Chapman boards the Speedwell in 1620 as a Separatist seeking a better life in the New World. William Lytton embarks on the Mayflower as a carpenter looking for opportunities to succeed—and he may have found one when a man from the Virginia Company offers William a hefty sum to keep a stealth eye on company interests in the new colony. The season is far too late for good sailing and storms rage, but reaching land is no better as food is scarce and the people are weak. Will Mary Elizabeth survive to face the spring planting and unknown natives? Will William be branded a traitor and expelled?

Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series begins with The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse. 

Kimberley Woodhouse is the best-selling and award-winning author of more than a dozen books. She is a wife, mother, author, and musician with a quick wit and positive outlook despite difficult circumstances. A popular speaker, she’s shared at more than 2,000 venues across the country. Kimberley and her family’s story have garnered national media attention for many years including ABC’s Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, The Montel Williams Show, Discovery Health channel’s Mystery ER, The Hour of Power, The Harvest Show, and over 1,000 other TV appearances and radio interviews. She lives and writes in Colorado with her husband of twenty-five years and their two amazing kids. 

Find Kim on twitter and facebook:
twitter.com/kimwoodhouse
author fan page Kimberley Woodhouse

 

My Impressions:

For fans of historical fiction featuring the early years of America, The Mayflower Bride by Kimberly Woodhouse is the perfect choice! This well-researched novel provides a view into the hardships that accompanied the colonists of Plymouth Plantation as they attempted to establish new lives in the New World. Fictional characters and historical figures mix seamlessly in this story of courage, perseverance and trust in God. This one is a recommended read.

The Mayflower Bride follows the fictional journeys of Mary Elizabeth Chapman, a young Separatist woman and William Lytton a London carpenter. These two endearing characters must learn to trust God as they seek to put the past aside and find a future and hope in America. Their romance adds a sweetness to the rich historical account. In addition to these characters, I loved how the author included some of the stories from the real passengers and crew of the Mayflower. Readers will recognize John Alden, Priscilla Mullins, and Miles Standish from their elementary school history lessons. But I found other lesser known characters fascinating. You’ll read about John Howland, an indentured servant who survives being washed overboard in the midst of the sea voyage and about Oceanus Hopkins, the first baby born while at sea. I found myself googling over and over to find out the rest of the story for the brave men and women that Woodhouse shares. And that’s what makes this novel unique — this book allows the reader to experience what our forefathers (and mothers 🙂 ) faced as they sought religious freedom and a chance to create new lives. Woodhouse presents an inspiring message of trusting God in the midst of heartache and hardship — especially meaningful because this is a true story! If your book club loves historical novels with some added romance, then this one is a good choice.

So if you are a fan of early American history, make sure to check out The Mayflower Bride. This book is just the first in the Daughters of The Mayflower series written by a variety of authors — I’m looking forward to more great reading!

Recommended.

Great for Book Clubs.

Audience: older teens to adults.

To purchase, click HERE.

(Thank you to Barbour Publishing for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

 

Top 10 Tuesday — Books of 2018

26 Dec

2018 is just around the corner! And with it comes exciting new book releases. Yay! Although my shelves overflow and the TBR pile teeters towards the sky, I am always on the look out for another great book. This week the folks at The Broke And The Bookish want to know the books that will soon release that we are looking forward to reading. I have more than 10 on the radar, but I will limit this list to those that will release in the first 3 months of the New Year. Let me know which books you are looking forward to.

To discover what books other bloggers are looking forward to in the new year, click HERE.

 

 

TOP 10 NEW BOOKS IN 2018

January

Cold Water by Samuel Parker

Oath of Honor by Lynette Eason

Steal Away Home by Billy Coffey

February

The Masterpiece by Francine Rivers

The Mayflower Bride by Kimberly Woodhouse 

A Passionate Hope by Jill Eileen Smith

The Saturday Night Supper Club by Carla Laureano

The Sea Before Us by Sarah Sundin

March

Beneath The Surface by Lynn Blackburn

If I Live by Terri Blackstock

Which 2018 book releases are you looking forward to?

Book Review: Beyond The Silence

11 Feb

51BitrCvNyL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_The shadows over this olive grove hide more than just the truth.

Lillian Porter has always wanted to fulfill her mother’s dream of going west, so when she hears about a nanny position in Angels Camp, California, she defies her grandfather and takes a chance on a new future. But she quickly wonders if she made the right choice. Murky rumors swirl around Woodward Colton, her new employer, but the gossip doesn’t match the man Lillian comes to know.

Still, something dark did happen in the family’s past. Lillian’s seven-year-old charge hasn’t spoken in over a year. Gently, Lillian tries to coax him out of his shell, hoping he’ll one day feel safe enough to share what scared him. But the Colton olive farm is no longer a safe place. Lillian encounters suspicious characters on their land and mysterious damage done to the farm. When the housekeeper is brutally attacked, the town once again suspects the worst. Will discovering the truth help Lillian clear the name of the man she has come to love–or will it endanger her even more?

 

PetersonWoodhouse-347Tracie Peterson is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than 100 novels. Tracie also teaches writing workshops at a variety of conferences on subjects such as inspirational romance and historical research. She and her family live in Montana.

Kimberley Woodhouse is a multipublished author of fiction and nonfiction. A popular speaker/teacher, she’s shared her theme of Joy Through Trials with over 150,000 people at more than a thousand venues across the country. She lives, writes, and homeschools with her husband of twenty-plus years and their two awesome teens live in Colorado.

 

My Impressions:

Beyond The Silence is an historical romance novel that captures the flavor of Old California in the late 1900s. Additionally the characters are endearing and the faith message is strong. This one is sure to appeal to fans of Peterson and Woodhouse and those who desire faith in God to be at the center of the story.

Lillian Porter is a determined young woman set on following her parents’ dreams as well as her own when she sets out to be a Nanny for a young boy traumatized by the death of his mother. What she finds is a town full of gossips and a father with hurt of his own. Her spirit, tenacity and reliance on God helps to turn the family around. But a murderer is still on the loose, and he will stop at nothing to get what he thinks is his.

The historical setting of Angel’s Camp, California is very interesting with its information on the cultivation of olives for oil and the table. Other historical details — clothing, transportation, medicine, etc. — lend an authentic flavor to Beyond The Silence. The characters are endearing, if just a bit stereotypical. The villain in particular has only one dimension. But I was drawn to the secondary character of Harry. Some labeled him an idiot, others simpleminded. But with sensitivity, the authors created in him a warm, funny and wise addition to the cast. There is a very definite faith message in the narrative. Characters continually pray about their fears, doubts and shortcomings. Gossip is portrayed for what it is — an evil that destroys relationships and reputations. God is seen as the only reliable source of refuge in times of trial.

Beyond The Silence is a quick read and should be just the thing for a reader looking for history and romance.

Recommended.

Audience: adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE

(Thanks to LitFuse and Bethany House for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

 

Giveaway!

Tracie and Kimberley are celebrating the launch of Beyond the Silence with a Loaded Fire Prize Pack giveaway (details below) and an author chat party on February 11!

beyond-silence-400
One grand prize winner will receive:
One copy of Beyond the Silence
A Kindle Fire 7
A $50 Amazon gift card to load your Fire with books

Enter today by clicking HERE. But hurry, the giveaway ends on 2/11. The winner will be announced at the Beyond the Silence Facebook party. RSVP for a chance to connect with Tracie, Kimberley, and other readers, as well as for a chance to win other prizes!