Tag Archives: Jo Baker

Top Ten Tuesday! — Audiobooks

28 Jun

It’s Freebie Day at Top Ten Tuesday! Thanks to the gals at The Broke And The Bookish who host every week. To find out what other bloggers are sharing today, click HERE.

toptentuesday

 

I love audiobooks! I started listening about 6 years ago when I traveled 4+ hours to my daughter’s college soccer games. They filled the tedious hours of driving alone. I got my husband hooked on audiobooks when we would go on road trips for football games. With Summer in full swing now, I thought it would be good to share my favorites. Audiobooks are perfect for car or plane trips or when you just want to relax and have someone read to you. 🙂 I also listen while exercising and doing chores, basically anytime when it is too cumbersome to hold a book! I went a bit over the top with my list — 20+ books! But I really liked them and just had to share.

 

TOP 10 20+ FAVORITE AUDIOBOOKS

While it is important to have a good story, a good reader/narrator is also important for a quality audiobook — timing and voices/accents are key. My husband and I got hooked on Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot mysteries. But just any old narrator will not do; we have to have Hugh Fraser! Lucky for us, a ton of Poirot audiobooks featuring Fraser are available. He does an excellent job in making Poirot come to life. Here are a few of our favorites.

51LLIqNY5wL._SL150_51joPmnAq+L._SL150_51D99ik8zRL._SL150_

The Christie audiobooks run about 6+ hours, making them a perfect choice for listening with others.

Along with the Christie mysteries, I have listened to some other excellent books. They vary in length, but have a two things in common: excellent stories and excellent narrators. The following have something for everyone — suspense, mystery, history. There is even a classic! Check them out!

The Advocate by Randy Singer, narrated by David Cochran Heath

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, narrated by Zach Appleman

Center of Gravity by Laura McNeill, narrated by Lisa Larsen

A Cry from The Dust by Carrie Stuart Parks, narrated by Teri Clark Linden

unknown5513V32QdsoL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_510k4y1r7ll-_sx331_bo1204203200_unknown8

The Curse of Crow Hollow by Billy Coffey, narrated by Gabe Wicks

Cuts Like A Knife by M.K. Gilroy, narrated by Coleen Marlo

Dead Lawyers Tell No Tales by Randy Singer, narrated by Joey Collins

Dubiosity by Christy Barritt, narrated by Joyce Bean

51zref80qgl-_sx322_bo1204203200_0346971375588_w18522817419

Fear Has A Name by Creston Mapes, narrated by Paul Michael

Longbourn by Jo Baker, narrated by Emma Fielding

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline, narrated by Jessica Almasy/Suzanne Toren

The Outcast by Jolina Petersheim, narrated by Tavia Gilbert

40816517380041timthumb-php514wfhka9l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

The Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta, narrated by Amanda McKnight

The Racketeer by John Grisham, narrated by J.D. Jackson

Sycamore Row by John Grisham, narrated by Michael Beck

Though Waters Roar by Lynn Austin, narrated by Alyssa Bresnahan

unknown11357323651qub-btyfl-_sx326_bo1204203200_41z7xttkxyl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, narrated by Sissy Spacek

The Traitor’s Wife by Allison Pataki, narrated by Madeleine Maby

Vanished by Irene Hannon, narrated by Celeste Ciulla

Water from My Heart by Charles Martin, narrated by Kevin Stilwell

220px-to_kill_a_mockingbird73860472123751bxurhvlhl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

What about you?

Do you listen to audiobooks?

 

Audiobook Review: Longbourn

12 Feb

17380041If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.
 
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days scrubbing the laundry, polishing the floors, and emptying the chamber pots for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak, and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs. When a mysterious new footman arrives, the orderly realm of the servants’ hall threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended. 

Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Jane Austen’s classic—into the often overlooked domain of the stern housekeeper and the starry-eyed kitchen maid, into the gritty daily particulars faced by the lower classes in Regency England during the Napoleonic Wars—and, in doing so, creates a vivid, fascinating, fully realized world that is wholly her own. 

jo-bakerJo Baker was born in Lancashire. She was educated at Oxford and at Queen’s University, Belfast, where she completed a PhD on the work of the Anglo-Irish writer Elizabeth Bowen. Her first novel, Offcomer, was published by William Heinemann in 2001. Her second book, The Mermaid’s Child, was published in August 2004. Jo Baker has also written for BBC Radio 4, and her short stories have been included in a number of anthologies. From 2001-2003 she was the Artistic Director of the Belfast Literary Festival. She lives in Belfast with her husband, the playwright and screenwriter Daragh Carville, and their son Daniel. The Telling is her third novel.

My Impressions:

I am not sure what Jane Austen’s reaction to Jo Baker’s Longbourn would be — amazed, appalled or approving. I think perhaps all three. Using the framework of Pride and Prejudice, the novel takes a look at the other side of Regency manners and morals. A perfect novel for fans of Jane Austen or Downton Abbey, Longbourn is a great addition to this Austenphile’s library.

All of your favorite and not so favorite characters from P&P are featured in Longbourn, but these major characters become supporting actors alongside the servants who work below stairs. It is housemaid Sarah along with footman James who are at the center of the action. Mrs. Hill is another player that has a major hand in the outcome of the story. A dirtier and grittier perspective is shared, as well as new insights into Austen’s own creation. Characters such as Mr. Collins and Mrs. Bennet are more sympathetic. Mr. Bennet is even weaker in his dealing with the household. Mr. Wickham, already villainous in P&P, is even more so in Longbourn. And the young ladies of the house are pretty much inconsequential, except for all the work they create for Sarah, Polly, and Mr. and Mrs. Hill.

I really liked this fresh approach to a retelling of such a beloved classic. Longbourn will make you think about real life in Regency England. It really was a time of strict class distinctions and differences. The war that dominated the time, but rarely mentioned in Austen’s works, is also explored. I read some negative reviews of this book that found the gritty descriptions and earthy subject matter objectionable. There is some profanity and sexual content; this is NOT a Christian novel. But I could overlook those things, because the book seems so real and honest.

I believe this is a must read (or listen in my case) for any fan of Jane Austen. The audiobook version is excellent. Emma Fielding does a wonderful job reading the novel. All in all a recommended read from me.

Recommended.

(I purchased the audiobook version from Audible. The opinions expressed are mine alone.)

To purchase a copy of Longbourn, click on the image below.