Book Review (+Giveaway!): Daughters of Northern Shores

11 Mar


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Daughters of Northern Shores
(Blackbird Mountain #2)
By Joanne Bischof
Christian Historical Romance
Paperback & ebook, 368 Pages
March 12th 2019 by Thomas Nelson

“The Norgaard brothers and their families will steal your heart.” —Catherine West, author of Where Hope Begins

Heartache and regret, boldness and sacrifice. What will restoration cost the beloved Norgaard family?

Aven Norgaard understands courage. Orphaned within an Irish workhouse, then widowed at just nineteen, she voyaged to America where she was wooed and wed by Thor Norgaard, a Deaf man in rural Appalachia. That the Lord saw her along the winding journey and that Aven now carries Thor’s child are blessings beyond measure. Yet while Thor holds her heart, it is his younger brother and rival who haunts her memories. Haakon—whose selfish choices shattered her trust in him.

Having fled the farm after trying to take Aven as his own, Haakon sails on the North Atlantic ice trade where his soul is plagued with regrets that distance cannot heal. Not even the beautiful Norwegian woman he’s pursued can ease the torment. When the winds bear him home after four years away, Haakon finds the family on the brink of tragedy. A decades-old feud with the neighboring farm has wrenched them into the fiercest confrontation on Blackbird Mountain since the Civil War. Haakon’s cunning and strength hold the power to seal many fates, including Thor’s which is already at stake through a grave illness brought to him as the first prick of warfare.

Now Haakon faces the hardest choice of his life. One that shapes a battlefield where pride must be broken enough to be restored, and where a prodigal son may finally know the healing peace of surrender and the boundless gift of forgiveness. And when it comes to the woman he left behind in Norway, he just might discover that while his heart belongs to a daughter of the north, she’s been awaiting him on shores more distant than the land he’s fighting for.

From Christy Award–winning author Joanne Bischof comes Daughters of Northern Shores: the highly anticipated sequel to her moving novel Sons of Blackbird Mountain.

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleChristianBookTNZ Fiction

Other Books in the Series

Sons of Blackbird Mountain
(Blackbird Mountain #1)
By Joanne Bischof
Christian Historical Romance
Paperback & ebook, 339 Pages
July 3rd 2018 by Thomas Nelson

From the bestselling award-winning author of The Lady and the Lionheart

“Beloved author Joanne Bischof doesn’t disappoint with her latest beautifully written, heartrending tale . . . a quick favorite for historical romance readers.” —Elizabeth Byler Younts, author of The Solace of Water

A Tale of Family, Brotherhood, and the Healing Power of Love

After the tragic death of her husband, Aven Norgaard is beckoned to give up her life in Norway to become a housekeeper in the rugged hills of Nineteenth-Century Appalachia. Upon arrival, she finds herself in the home of her late husband’s cousins—three brothers who make a living by brewing hard cider on their three-hundred acre farm. Yet even as a stranger in a foreign land, Aven has hope to build a new life in this tight-knit family.

But her unassuming beauty disrupts the bond between the brothers. The youngest two both desire her hand, and Aven is caught in the middle, unsure where—and whether—to offer her affection. While Haakon is bold and passionate, it is Thor who casts the greatest spell upon her. Though Deaf, mute, and dependent on hard drink to cope with his silent pain, Thor possesses a sobering strength.

As autumn ushers in the apple harvest, the rift between Thor and Haakon deepens and Aven faces a choice that risks hearts. Will two brothers’ longing for her quiet spirit tear apart a family? Can she find a tender belonging in this remote, rugged, and unfamiliar world?

A haunting tale of struggle and redemption, Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a portrait of grace in a world where the broken may find new life through the healing mercy of love.

Praise for Sons of Blackbird Mountain:

“Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a quiet gem of a historical romance. Refreshingly real and honest in its depiction of flawed but lovable individuals, it introduces characters readers will want to meet again.” – CBA Market

“. . . the novel provides an interesting glimpse of the time period and some complex social issues among neighbors in an area still recovering from the Civil War.” – Historical Novels Review

“VERDICT Christy- and Carol Award-winning author Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) creates endearing characters and a heartwarming story line in this unforgettable novel about the power of family, love, and the true meaning of home. Fans of Kristy Cambron, Julie Klassen, and Susan Meissner will love this one.” – Library Journal

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleChristianBookTNZ Fiction

About The Author


Picture courtesy of https://joannebischof.com.

Joanne Bischof is an ACFW Carol Award and ECPA Christy Award-winning author. She writes deeply layered fiction that tugs at the heartstrings. She was honored to receive the San Diego Christian Writers Guild Novel of the Year Award in 2014 and in 2015 was named Author of the Year by the Mount Hermon conference. Joanne’s 2016 novel, The Lady and the Lionheart, received an extraordinary 5 Star TOP PICK! from RT Book Reviews, among other critical acclaim. She lives in the mountains of Southern California with her three children.

WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterestYouTubeInstagram

 

My Impressions:

Fans of Joanne Bischof’s Sons of Blackbird Mountain will not be disappointed in the return visit to the Norgaard family farm in Daughters of Northern Shores. The first book in the 2-volume series left us with Thor and Aven married, the Sorrel family on the run, and Haakon, the youngest Norgaard brother, hopping a ship to destinations unknown. Don’t worry, there is much, much more of the story left to told, and as always, Bischof does it with beautiful prose that sets the scene and reveals the fears, sorrows, hopes, and dreams of her characters. This book is another winner!

Bischof is an accomplished storyteller. Readers can almost smell and taste the world she creates. They certainly can see the vivid settings of ship and land, especially the Appalachian apple farm worked by the Norgaards. I loved the historical elements that spoke of authenticity and diligent research on the part of the author. Four years have passed between the two books and much has changed, but the author fills in the gaps so naturally that the reader gets caught up with the lives of favorite characters right away. And those characters . . . . I loved Aven and Thor from book 1, but I was immediately drawn to Haakon in Daughters of Northern Shores. His 4 years of travel, hard work, and contemplation do much to develop this prodigal son from selfish young man to one who is ready to ask forgiveness and face the consequences of his actions. Lost trust leads to lost relationships, and this novel highlights how much one person’s actions can affect others. But this is also a story of forgiveness and restoration.

Daughters of Northern Shores is a wonderful conclusion to the series. I was sorry to leave the Norgaards when the final page was turned. Please be aware that you must read this series in order, otherwise you will miss out on the full reading pleasure. I promise you will not be sorry!

Recommended.

Audience: adults.

(Thanks to Prism Book Tours for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

Tour Schedule

Tour Giveaway

One winner will receive a print copy of DAUGHTERS OF NORTHERN SHORES and a Thomas Nelson/Zondervan custom tote bag (book and bag shown are examples, not actual prize)
US only
Ends March 20, 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Grab Our Button!

10 Responses to “Book Review (+Giveaway!): Daughters of Northern Shores”

  1. Anne Rightler March 11, 2019 at 7:13 am #

    I enjoyed Son’s of BMtn and am so looking forward to reading this newest one from Joanne. I’m sure we’ve driven thru the Appalachians but not stopped and stayed any length of time

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susiesellnergmailcom March 11, 2019 at 7:44 am #

    I own Sons of Blackbird Mountain but haven’t read it yet. So, I will definitely read that one before Daughters of Northern Shores. This sounds like a fascinating series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Debbie Clatterbuck March 11, 2019 at 5:31 pm #

    Joanne is a new to me author and I am intrigued by this description and review to read this book and the first one. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity and good luck everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Connie Scruggs March 11, 2019 at 5:54 pm #

    I have been wanting to read Sons of a Blackbird Mountain. I’m excited that there is another book in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patty March 12, 2019 at 12:26 pm #

    I just recently read the first book in this series. Would love to read the second while the characters are fresh in my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Tuesday — Please, Can I Have Some More?! | By The Book - March 12, 2019

    […] Daughters of Northern Shores by Joanne Bischof […]

    Like

  2. Northern Shores Grand Finale Blitz – The Becca Files - March 16, 2019

    […] By The Book – Review […]

    Like

  3. Grand Finale for DAUGHTERS OF NORTHERN SHORES by Joanne Bischof | splashesofjoy - March 16, 2019

    […] By The Book – Review […]

    Like

  4. Daughters of the Northern Shores – Grand Finale Blitz | Paper, Ink, & Lizard - March 16, 2019

    […] By The Book – Review […]

    Like

  5. Grand Finale & Giveaway: Daughters of Northern Shores by Joanne Bischof | Britt Reads Fiction - March 16, 2019

    […] By The Book – Review […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: