If You Liked . . . Chosen People

31 Jan

Chosen People by Robert Whitlow got an almost unanimous thumbs up from my book club. Pretty good considering we are a choosy group. Robert Whitlow has continued to be one of our favorite authors even as some of his books were a miss for all or several of our members. We love his relevant themes, realistic and relatable characters, and of course the legal drama of his novels. So what should we read next? Here are a few recommendations that have a legal, terrorism, and/or Middle East connection.

Hidden Peril by Irene Hannon

As teenagers, Kristin Dane and her two best friends took a vow to make the world a better place. Twenty years later, she’s fulfilling that pledge through her fair trade shop that features products from around the world. All is well until, one by one, people connected to the shop begin dying.

Detective Luke Carter, new to the St. Louis PD, wants to know why. Before he can answer that question, however, the FBI weighs in and Kristin suddenly finds herself in the middle of international intrigue–and in the sights of the ruthless mastermind behind an ingenious and deadly, scheme. Can this cold-blooded killer be stopped before more people die . . . including Kristin?

Lion of Babylon by Davis Bunn

Marc Royce works for the State Department on special assignments, most of them rather routine, until two CIA operatives go missing in Iraq–kidnapped by Taliban forces bent on generating chaos in the region. 

Two others also drop out of sight–a high-placed Iraqi civilian and an American woman providing humanitarian aid. Are the disappearances linked? 

Rumors circulate in a whirl of misinformation. Marc must unravel the truth in a covert operation requiring utmost secrecy–from both the Americans and the insurgents. But even more secret than the undercover operation is the underground dialogue taking place between sworn enemies. Will the ultimate Reconciler between ancient enemies, current foes, and fanatical religious factions be heard? 

Rule of Law by Randy Singer

What did the president know? And when did she know it?

For the members of SEAL Team Six, it was a rare mission ordered by the president, monitored in real time from the Situation Room. The Houthi rebels in Yemen had captured an American journalist and a member of the Saudi royal family. Their executions were scheduled for Easter Sunday. The SEAL team would break them out.

But when the mission results in spectacular failure, the finger-pointing goes all the way to the top.

Did the president play political games with the lives of U.S. service members?

Paige Chambers, a determined young lawyer, has a very personal reason for wanting to know the answer. The case she files will polarize the nation and test the resiliency of the Constitution. The stakes are huge, the alliances shaky, and she will be left to wonder if the saying on the Supreme Court building still holds true.

Equal justice under law.

It makes a nice motto. But will it work when one of the most powerful people on the planet is also a defendant?

2 Responses to “If You Liked . . . Chosen People”

  1. Winterville First Baptist Church Media Center February 1, 2019 at 6:12 pm #

    I love all three of those authors. But I have read the Lion of Babylon series by Davis Bunn and although I can’t remember anything about it (it was YEARS ago) I do remember that I really liked that series. Now I want to read them again!

    Like

    • rbclibrary February 1, 2019 at 6:14 pm #

      I’m not sure if I read all 3. I know I read another in the series. And check your email for a message from me!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: