Book Review/Author Interview/Giveaway! — The Case of The Clobbered Cad

12 Oct

 

Series: The Nosy Parker Mysteries
Genre:  Journey Fiction, Historical, Mystery 
Publisher: Indie
Publication date: August 1, 2017

Inspired by the famous Girl Detective, the members of the Olentangy Heights Girls’ Detective Society, affectionately known as the Nosy Parkers, spent their formative years studying criminology, codes, and capers. Unfortunately, opportunities to put their unique skills to work were thin on the ground in the post-war boom of their little corner of suburbia and they eventually grew up to pursue more sensible careers. Until…

Heather Munro’s youthful devotion to The Girl Detective led to a passion for digging around in history. Now pursuing her Master’s Degree in Celtic Studies, Heather must balance exploring Edinburgh with her determination to excel in her all–male classes at the University. Unfortunately, on her first night working in the Archives room, she discovers the dead body of a visiting professor, the same would-be lothario she’d hoped never to see again.

As clues come to light, it’s clear someone hopes to frame Heather for the murder. Besides her quirky landlady, whom can she trust? How can she clear her name? The police and the American Consul have plenty of suspects, but only two seem to have both motive and opportunity: Heather and the quiet Scottish historian she longs to believe in.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Debra E. Marvin is a member of ACFW, Sisters in Crime, a Grace Awards Judge, and serves on the board of Bridges Ministry in Seneca Falls, NY. She’s one of the founders of Inkwell Inspirations Blog, and is published with WhiteFire Publishing, Forget Me Not Romances, Journey Fiction and contracted with Barbour Publishing. Debra works as a program assistant at Cornell University in upstate NY, and enjoys her family and grandchildren, obsessively buying fabric, watching British programming and traveling with her childhood friends.

 FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | AMAZON | WEBSITE

 

1. Who or what inspired you to be a writer?
I started making illustrated books as a child, then became a student who wrote two thousand words for a five hundred word essay. Hanging around with readers and authors just feels right, because we are all compelled to step into a story. I love beautiful words and images and there’s not quite so satisfying as finding just the right word. There may have been a time when I read a story and thought… I can do that!  (Oh how naïve! I can do it but it’s darn hard work!)

2. What did you want to be when you grew up? Did being an author ever cross your mind?
Despite the fact I tend to be a bit driven by all I want to get done now, I wasn’t a particularly focused child. I recall a few years of wanting to be an astronomer, but basically I just liked to make things and spend time daydreaming.  I was an art major (and we know how difficult that is as a career!) and then all of a sudden I was a housewife and mother who obsessively made things. Finally, I took a creative writing class in my thirties and it all just took off. Writing satisfies like nothing else!

3. What is your current WIP? What can you tell us about this project?
Currently, I’m working on my second contemporary romance novella. Somewhere along the way this project became a difficult emotional journey and was put aside while I finished this mystery and a colonial era novella. The first contemporary romance was a breeze—I wrote 17,000 words in three days. This one is like picking up egg whites, but I’m determined to see it through! It takes place on Cape Hatteras and will be out later this year from Forget Me Not Romances.

What inspired the idea for The Case of the Clobbered Cad?  Oh I wish I knew how to explain the tangled lines that became this story. Ideas just seem to pop up and then explode into a puzzle that needs to be solved. When my setting changed from Sturbridge Village to Edinburgh, Scotland, research pulled me into the University’s archeology department. I had that lovely lightbulb moment upon seeing some reference to an artifact. I’d contacted the secretary of the History and Archeology departments and it happened that a retired archeology professor gave me all sorts of information on the very vibrant archeology department of the 1950s.

4. What do you want readers to take away from reading The Case of the Clobbered Cad?
This story doesn’t quite fit into a nice, neat genre and so I hope readers find it unexpected,  fresh, enjoyable, entertaining and creates nostalgia for the days when a girl detective story kept them up late on a school night!

5. When you are not writing, what hobbies do you enjoy?
I love to make things that involve color, texture and handwork. It might be decorative painting, knitting, gardening and the occasional fairy house. But mostly I’m like to design and sew—quilting or making costumes. (I have a little problem with buying fabric.)

For fans of Nancy Drew, Agatha Christie, or cozy mysteries in general, The Case of The Clobbered Cad is a treat! Main character, Heather Munro is on the case of the murder of the much hated celebrity archaeologist/author/professor Jack Winters. There is no lack of suspects; everyone seems to have a motive and opportunity. And the police, though completely in control of the investigation, seem to have preconceived notions of just whodunit! It takes Heather, with a little help from her landlady, to get to the bottom of things.

I really enjoyed this historical cozy mystery. The setting of Edinburg in the 1950s gave it a classic mystery vibe, while the sweet, and somewhat naive Heather is the perfect girl detective. Heather has some history with the murder victim which puts her on the short list of suspects. I liked how the author allows Heather to come to grips with her small indiscretion as she searches for the killer. Heather’s landlady assists Heather in the investigation and in Heather’s ultimate forgiveness of herself. Other characters are all a bit shifty, and it is difficult for Heather to know whom to trust. The clues and close calls keep Heather and the reader on their toes. I didn’t see the ending coming, which is a big plus in my book. There is a bit of romance for Heather that I would love to see explored should there be another book (yes, please!). Heather Munro is an endearing character, and I’d love to join her on more mysterious adventures in Scotland.

Recommended.

Audience: adults.

(Thanks to Singing Librarian Blog Tours for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

Enter the giveaway HERE.

 

October 2-Reading Is My SuperPower
October 3-Bibliophile Reviews
October 4-Singing Librarian Books
October 5-Joy of Reading ​
October 6-Karen Sue Hadley
October 7-Fiction Aficionado
October 9-A Baker’s Perspective
October 10-allofakindmom
October 11-The Power of Words
October 12-​By The Book
October 13-Ponderings of a Poet & Procrastinator
October 14-Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen 

Advertisements

10 Responses to “Book Review/Author Interview/Giveaway! — The Case of The Clobbered Cad”

  1. debraemarvin October 12, 2017 at 7:19 am #

    Thanks so much for hosting, Beckie! I’m really enjoying the blog tour (and actually that’s tours, and they ended up overlapping). Mrs. K is a fan favorite, so it’s a good thing I planned on taking her along when Heather goes to Ireland ‘to relax’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rbclibrary October 12, 2017 at 8:17 am #

      Yay!

      Like

    • joyofreadingweb October 12, 2017 at 8:23 am #

      Oh, I’m looking forward to reading more of Heather’s adventures and more Mrs. K! Hurray!

      Like

  2. debraemarvin October 12, 2017 at 8:05 am #

    I also want to share a link to our book trailer. It’s ADORABLE!

    Like

  3. debraemarvin October 12, 2017 at 8:06 am #

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joyofreadingweb October 12, 2017 at 8:21 am #

    I agree, this is a fun book to read! The setting, the characters, and the mystery, all come together in a wonderful blend to make a most wonderful story.

    Like

  5. Suzanne Sellner October 12, 2017 at 10:02 am #

    The Case of the Clobbered Clad sounds like a great book; I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Like

    • rbclibrary October 12, 2017 at 10:28 am #

      I think you’ll like it!

      Like

    • debraemarvin October 12, 2017 at 10:52 am #

      I wish you the best in the giveaway. Gosh I wish I could give you all one. That wouldn’t be good for my pocket, but so much fun!

      Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: