Book Review: When Tides Turn

25 Mar

When fun-loving glamour girl Quintessa Beaumont learns the Navy has established the WAVES program for women, she enlists, determined to throw off her frivolous ways and contribute to the war effort. No-nonsense and hoping to make admiral, Lt. Dan Avery has been using his skills to fight German U-boats. The last thing he wants to see on his radar is a girl like Tess. For her part, Tess works hard to prove her worth in the Anti-Submarine Warfare Unit in Boston–both to her commanding officers and to the man with whom she is smitten. When Dan is assigned to a new escort carrier at the peak of the Battle of the Atlantic, he’s torn between his lifelong career goals and his desire to help Tess root out a possible spy on shore. The Germans put up quite a fight, but he wages a deeper battle within his heart. Could Tess be the one for him?

 

 

Sarah Sundin enjoys writing about the drama and romance of the World War II era. She is the author of nine novels, including the Waves of Freedom series (Through Waters Deep, Anchor in the Storm, and When Tides Turn.)

A mother of three, Sundin lives in northern California, works on-call as a hospital pharmacist, and enjoys speaking to community, church, and writers’ groups. Her novel Through Waters Deep was a 2016 Carol Award Finalist, won the INSPY Award, and Booklist named it to the 101 Best Romance Novels of the Past 10 Years and the Top 10 Inspirational Fiction: 2015. Her novella in Where Treetops Glisten was a finalist in the 2015 Carol Awards, and in 2011 she received the Writer of the Year Award from the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference. She belongs to American Christian Fiction Writers, Christian Authors Network, and Advanced Writers and Speakers Association. Please visit Sarah at http://www.sarahsundin.com, on Facebook at SarahSundinAuthor, and on Twitter at @sarahsundin.

 

My Impressions:

When Tides Turn is the perfect ending for the fabulous Waves of Freedom series. With just the right blend of history, romance and intrigue, Sarah Sundin has done it again — characters that will steal your heart and a story that will keep you turning the pages long after everyone else has headed to bed. This one is a highly recommended read!

Quintessa “Tess” Beaumont and Daniel Avery are the focus of When Tides Turn. The two seem opposite in many ways, except perhaps their commitment to serving their country to the best of their abilities. The no-nonsence Navy man and the vivacious and beautiful WAVE are determined to stay the course and not become involved, but no one really believes that will happen! Sundin does a great job of creating two characters who compliment each other. Tess brings perspective and color into the flat black and white world Dan sees, and Dan offers the needed encouragement that Tess needs to find her purpose. Their developing relationship was a joy to behold.

As always it is evident that Sundin has done her research —  naval operations, the creation of the WAVES, and the efforts of French patriots and Nazi collaborators. The era really did come alive to this reader. I visited Boston last Fall and it was fun to revisit the city along with Tess, Dan, and their friends. Spiritual themes of judging appearances and the need for rest were insightful and convicting. The faith of the characters was lived out naturally without need for preachiness. Although When Tides Turn is the last book of a series, it is not necessary to read the first two, however, I recommend you begin at the beginning. You don’t want to miss anything!

For fans of Sundin, When Tides Turn is a must-read. It is also a great book for those who love historical romance with a bit of mystery, especially that of the WWII era.

Highly Recommended.

Audience: adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE.

(Thanks to Revell for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Book Review: When Tides Turn”

  1. Sarah Sundin March 25, 2017 at 8:29 pm #

    Thank you, Beckie! What a lovely review! I’m glad you enjoyed Dan & Tess’s story!

    Like

    • rbclibrary March 26, 2017 at 7:10 am #

      Thank you for creating great stories! Looking forward to the next series. Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: