Children’s Corner — God’s Little Lambs Bible Stories

12 Oct

unknownBible Stories for God’s Little Lambs is a storybook Bible written just for little ones. With a padded cover and simple, accessible text by Julie Stiegemeyer, children will learn about God’s love through stories such as Noah’s Ark, Jonah and the Big Fish, and Jesus Welcomes the Children. With soft brushstrokes and warm colors, Qin Leng provides illustrations readers will love to cuddle up with at bedtime or any time of the day.

 

 

Purchase book HERE.

 

 

dsc051303Julie Stiegemeyer — in her own words!

I was born and raised in Lakewood, Colorado, which is in the Denver area. As a child, I loved playing with stuffed animals, and my friends and I enjoyed neighborhood games like Kick the Can and Green Ghost (which was a version of Hide and Seek as I remember). I loved animals–especially our black labrador. We named her Liberty because she was born in 1976. I have two older brothers who loved to torment their little sister. But we also had a lot of fun together.

Here is my school picture from kindergarten. I wrote my first book when I was in kindergarten. It’s a three-page adventure story about a police helicopter which caught up with a criminal in a police chase. I had quite a sense of justice!

Many writers I know were avid readers as children. When I was young, I enjoyed reading, and I made lots of trips to the library with my mom. My parents were always avid readers and still are. But it wasn’t until I was in high school and college that I learned to LOVE to read. And it was about that time when I started writing more as well.

What I love best about the scenery of Colorado are the wide open skies where the clouds move like billowy sail boats across the bluest sky you can imagine. The city of Denver sits up against the Rocky Mountains, and that’s how I learned my directions—the mountains are always west of the city.

I wrote my first poem when I was in fourth grade, and it’s still hanging in my parents’ basement. I shellacked it on put it on a wooden plaque.

In my free time, I like spending time with my family, walking my dog, hugging my cats, walking through the woods, doing puzzles, watching movies, reading lots of books, and most of all…writing, of course!

Qin Leng is a childrens’ book illustrator and background designer for animated television series. She lives with her twin sister in Toronto.

 

My Impressions:

God’s Little Lambs Bible Stories is sure to be a hit with your family. With over 30 beloved stories from the Bible, this book is geared towards the preschool to early elementary set. Each story is based on scripture. In fact, each story is introduced with scripture references to help you and your child more fully explore God’s word. Bright illustrations keep your child engaged, and each story ends with a brief statement to affirm the lesson just learned. I think this book is perfect for family story time. Or you can use it for those extra school assignments to practice reading skills. Each story can be read alone, allowing you to choose the right story for your child’s day.

God’s Little Lambs is a good addition to your family library!

Recommended.

Audience: children ages 4-8.

(Thanks to Zonderkidz for a complimentary copy. A review was not required, and all opinions are mine alone.)

 

