Book Review: The Hesitant Heiress

18 Aug

51PEq1iAwNL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_After being unjustly expelled from the Boston Conservatory of Music, Amaryllis Brigham sees her dreams of founding a music academy in her hometown of Seattle, Washington, disappearing before her very eyes. Now, the only way to achieve her goal comes with high stakes for someone set on avoiding men as much as possible: Marry within the year to inherit the immense fortune of her estranged grandmother. Amaryllis reluctantly moves in to her aunt’s Boston home and rubs shoulders with fashionable society. Despite her own misgivings, she soon finds herself quickly falling in love with the most unlikely of men — Nathan Everstone, the envy of every eligible female, whose father has haunted her dreams for the decade following her mother’s tragic death. However, Nathan turns out to be much more than he seems…and everything she never knew she wanted. But just as everything Amaryllis has recently hoped for comes to fruition, it all falls apart when she finds that the real culprit who has been managing her life isn’t who she thought at all.

 

71XNMguH8YL._UX250_A graduate of Taylor University with a degree in Christian Education, and a former bookseller at Barnes & Noble, Dawn Crandall didn’t begin writing until 2010 when her husband found out about her long-buried dream of writing a book. Without a doubt about someday becoming published, he encouraged her to quit her job in 2010 in order to focus on writing The Hesitant Heiress. It didn’t take her long to realize that writing books was what she was made to do.

Apart from writing books, Dawn is also a mom to two precious little boys and also serves with her husband in a premarriage mentor program at their local church in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Dawn is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers, secretary for the Indiana ACFW Chapter (Hoosier Ink), and associate member of the Great Lakes ACFW Chapter.

The Everstone Chronicles is Dawn’s first series with Whitaker House. All three books composing the series were semifinalists in ACFW’s prestigious Genesis Writing Contest, the third book going on to become a finalist in 2013.

My Impressions:

I admit it. I am a bit behind in my reading. About two years behind! That’s when Dawn Crandall published her first novel in the Everstone Chronicles, The Hesitant Heiress. Dawn has been busily writing and now has three published novels and a fourth set to release in September. I’m waaay behind! But I am steadily catching up. Thanks to Dawn, I finally got a chance to read the book that has been causing lots of buzz all over the book blogosphere since it debuted. Here are some of my thoughts.

The Hesistant Heiress takes place during the Gilded Age in the homes and playgrounds of the rich — Boston and Bar Harbor. The inexperienced and newly proclaimed heiress, Amaryllis Brigham, finds herself settled into wealth and luxury. Having spent her young life on a ranch in the wilds of Washington and then sheltered in schools in Boston, Amaryllis is unfamiliar with the trappings of the super-wealthy. She also has no desire to be caught up in the schemes that would find her married and the recipient of her grandparents’ vast fortune. Amaryllis only wants to return to her beloved home state and open a music conservatory. But as she and others soon find out, man may make his plans, but God is the director of the steps.

For those who love historical romance, The Hesitant Heiress is the perfect choice. Dawn has created intriguing and endearing characters that steal your heart. Swoon-worthy hero, Nathan Everstone, is an extremely attractive character and Amaryllis will appeal to those who like their heroines determined and independent, but with a bit of vulnerability. You know you want to be swept up and swept away! Dawn does a wonderful job of weaving spiritual truths into her love story. The relationships between earthly fathers and their children almost always impact how we view our heavenly Father. In Amaryllis’ case, the abandonment and inconsistency of her father keeps her from fully trusting and surrendering to God. But perception is not always truth, as Amaryllis and readers find out. Mystery and intrigue surround Amaryllis making for a page-turning experience, especially near the end.

I have 2 more books to dive into before the release of The Cautious Maiden in September. All books are connected by the characters, but can be read as standalones. I am certainly looking forward to experiencing more drama, romance and true love with Dawn Crandall.

Recommended.

Audience: adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE

(Thanks to the author and publisher for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

4 Responses to “Book Review: The Hesitant Heiress”

  1. thepowerofwords2016 August 18, 2016 at 9:46 am #

    I loved this book, Beckie. It really clicked with me for some reason and I wanted to read it again as soon as I finished. I always enjoy a musical connection and swoon-worthy hero like Nathan, but I really like Dawn’s writing style. The next two are good also, but I think this one will always be my favorite.

    Like

    • rbclibrary August 18, 2016 at 4:49 pm #

      It took me an “inordinately” long time to read it. Get it? Haha! I have had so many distractions this summer that my reading has slowed to a crawl. I’m looking forward to getting back on track. Books 2-4 are calling me. 🙂

      Like

  2. Rissi August 18, 2016 at 9:52 pm #

    I’m behind on my reading too, Beckie. It’s a perpetual dilemma for us book nerds, right!? 😉 If nothing else did, swoon-worthy hero intrigues me all on its own! Thanks for reviewing this book.

    Like

    • rbclibrary August 19, 2016 at 6:57 am #

      I am not sure if I have enough years left to read all the books languishing on my shelves and Kindle! Maybe if I never acquire another book. Naw, that’s not going to happen. 🙂 And thank you, Rissi, for commenting. By the way, I am really enjoying your Blogging 101 series. I’m learning some really great tips.

      Like

Comments are closed.

