Children’s Corner + Giveaway! — Baby Wren And The Great Gift

13 Apr

51QlDy0KiDL._SY436_BO1,204,203,200_The Baby Wren and the Great Gift, written by bestselling author Sally Lloyd-Jones and illustrated by Jen Corace, is a celebration of all the wonderful gifts God has given us. The tiny wren marvels at the incredible creatures around her, all the while wishing she had a special gift to share. As she takes in the beauty of the world around her, she discovers a unique talent that’s been inside her all along.

 

 

B1o09DwBp8S._UX250_Sally Lloyd-Jones is a Brit who came to the US in 1989 “just for a year.” She’s still here.

Born in Kampala, Uganda, raised in East, and West Africa and at a boarding school in the New Forest, the first book she ever remembers reading all the way through was The Complete Nonsense by Edward Lear. Things have not been the same since.

She lives in Manhattan and enjoys dividing her time between the front half of her apartment and the back.

http://www.sallylloyd-jones.com

me.about_Jen Corace (illustrator) 

nuts and bolts:

from southern new jersey, graduated from risd with a bfa in illustration in 1996, lives and works in providence, ri, hates sopping wet paper. it makes her gag.

odds and sods:

first dream job was to be a bumper car operator (it could still happen), loves breakfast, loves breakfast for dinner more, loves biking, loves walking more, loves a lot of music but could easily listen to belle and sebastian or the wedding present all day long. non stop.

My Impressions:

Beautiful illustrations accompany the sweet and simple message of one tiny bird with a big, big gift. Baby Wren And The Great Gift explores the wonders of creation and the uniqueness of what God has created. A very small bird wonders what her gift could be as she contemplates all the wonderful things other animals can do. The prose is easy and unhurried with a repeating refrain to divide each scene. Bold illustrations pair well with the narrative. Perfect for family reading, or a larger group story time, this storybook will capture your child’s imagination and open up new ideas of what makes him/her special.

Recommended.

Audience: children ages 4-8

To purchase this book, click HERE.

(Thanks to Zonderkidz for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

Giveaway!

Zonderkidz is very graciously offering a copy of Baby Wren And The Great Gift to one of my readers. To enter the giveaway, simply leave a comment stating with whom you’ll share this book. The giveaway will run through April 27. (Please note: US only.)

15 Responses to “Children’s Corner + Giveaway! — Baby Wren And The Great Gift”

  1. eppersonkatrina April 13, 2016 at 6:10 am #

    What a sweet book! I usually pick out a child at church and share books with. Each month a different child. Thank you for sharing.
    eppersonkatrina(at)yahoo (dot) com

    Like

    • rbclibrary April 13, 2016 at 6:39 am #

      That is soo sweet Katrina! Love that idea!

      Like

  2. NT April 13, 2016 at 8:52 am #

    To my daughters, who love animal and Christian books. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  3. Dana Murphy April 13, 2016 at 9:05 am #

    I will share this book with my grandkids. They are 18mns and 3. Thank you for the chance to win.

    Like

  4. Suzanne Sellner April 13, 2016 at 9:43 am #

    My husband and I teach a children’s church class and love to share excellent Christian children’s books with them. We also love to listen to and watch birds in our backyard; in fact, my favorite way to awaken in the morning is to bird songs, which are so cheerful and encouraging!

    Like

  5. Heidi Robbins (@colorvibrant) April 13, 2016 at 10:36 am #

    I’d love this book for my daughter! We love to read together 🙂

    Like

  6. Jeanna Schirm Massman April 13, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

    I would share this book with my grandson! He loves books about nature!

    Like

  7. cherih April 14, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

    A dear friend just had twins- she’d love to read a sweet story like this to them!

    Like

  8. Ashley Bradberry April 14, 2016 at 9:49 pm #

    My three little boys!

    Like

  9. WL Boettcher April 15, 2016 at 1:13 am #

    I love your writing style and over the top love your Jesus Storybook Bible! I am a teacher in a Christian school and for the past 4 years I have given each of my students your Bible for Christmas. I love that they are reading God’s Word to their families! So far your gift of a God’s Word has reached 35 families! I would share this book with my current (and future) class of 1st graders 🙂

    Like

  10. Kate April 15, 2016 at 6:45 am #

    I would love to share this book with my two children!

    Like

  11. Vera Godley April 18, 2016 at 7:18 am #

    I think I would share this with our first great-grandchild who survived being a 26-week-premie and now is a 20 month old charmer.

    Like

  12. Merry S. April 18, 2016 at 9:11 am #

    I would love to share this book with my nephews.

    Like

  13. Janet Estridge April 18, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

    I volunteer in the church library. I will share this book with the people who check it out. Thanks for entering me in your giveaway.

    Like

  14. Tracey April 18, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

    I would share with my daughters, and then probably pass it on to Olivia, a friend’s young daughter too!

    Like

Comments are closed.

