Book Review: Beyond The Silence

11 Feb

51BitrCvNyL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_The shadows over this olive grove hide more than just the truth.

Lillian Porter has always wanted to fulfill her mother’s dream of going west, so when she hears about a nanny position in Angels Camp, California, she defies her grandfather and takes a chance on a new future. But she quickly wonders if she made the right choice. Murky rumors swirl around Woodward Colton, her new employer, but the gossip doesn’t match the man Lillian comes to know.

Still, something dark did happen in the family’s past. Lillian’s seven-year-old charge hasn’t spoken in over a year. Gently, Lillian tries to coax him out of his shell, hoping he’ll one day feel safe enough to share what scared him. But the Colton olive farm is no longer a safe place. Lillian encounters suspicious characters on their land and mysterious damage done to the farm. When the housekeeper is brutally attacked, the town once again suspects the worst. Will discovering the truth help Lillian clear the name of the man she has come to love–or will it endanger her even more?

 

PetersonWoodhouse-347Tracie Peterson is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than 100 novels. Tracie also teaches writing workshops at a variety of conferences on subjects such as inspirational romance and historical research. She and her family live in Montana.

Kimberley Woodhouse is a multipublished author of fiction and nonfiction. A popular speaker/teacher, she’s shared her theme of Joy Through Trials with over 150,000 people at more than a thousand venues across the country. She lives, writes, and homeschools with her husband of twenty-plus years and their two awesome teens live in Colorado.

 

My Impressions:

Beyond The Silence is an historical romance novel that captures the flavor of Old California in the late 1900s. Additionally the characters are endearing and the faith message is strong. This one is sure to appeal to fans of Peterson and Woodhouse and those who desire faith in God to be at the center of the story.

Lillian Porter is a determined young woman set on following her parents’ dreams as well as her own when she sets out to be a Nanny for a young boy traumatized by the death of his mother. What she finds is a town full of gossips and a father with hurt of his own. Her spirit, tenacity and reliance on God helps to turn the family around. But a murderer is still on the loose, and he will stop at nothing to get what he thinks is his.

The historical setting of Angel’s Camp, California is very interesting with its information on the cultivation of olives for oil and the table. Other historical details — clothing, transportation, medicine, etc. — lend an authentic flavor to Beyond The Silence. The characters are endearing, if just a bit stereotypical. The villain in particular has only one dimension. But I was drawn to the secondary character of Harry. Some labeled him an idiot, others simpleminded. But with sensitivity, the authors created in him a warm, funny and wise addition to the cast. There is a very definite faith message in the narrative. Characters continually pray about their fears, doubts and shortcomings. Gossip is portrayed for what it is — an evil that destroys relationships and reputations. God is seen as the only reliable source of refuge in times of trial.

Beyond The Silence is a quick read and should be just the thing for a reader looking for history and romance.

Recommended.

Audience: adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE

(Thanks to LitFuse and Bethany House for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

 

Giveaway!

Tracie and Kimberley are celebrating the launch of Beyond the Silence with a Loaded Fire Prize Pack giveaway (details below) and an author chat party on February 11!

beyond-silence-400
One grand prize winner will receive:
One copy of Beyond the Silence
A Kindle Fire 7
A $50 Amazon gift card to load your Fire with books

Enter today by clicking HERE. But hurry, the giveaway ends on 2/11. The winner will be announced at the Beyond the Silence Facebook party. RSVP for a chance to connect with Tracie, Kimberley, and other readers, as well as for a chance to win other prizes!

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Book Review: Beyond The Silence”

  1. Carole February 11, 2016 at 2:29 pm #

    I enjoyed this book overall also, Beckie. I thought they did a great job with Harry’s character and I really liked him.

    Like

    • rbclibrary February 11, 2016 at 5:28 pm #

      His was my favorite character. Did you read the first book they wrote together? If so, what did you think. I have not read it.

      Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: