Book Review: Trial And Tribulations

20 Nov

51beCFzyVZL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_High-powered attorney Olivia Murray faces the biggest test of her career when she is assigned to represent Astral Tech, a New Age tech company, in a lawsuit filed by its biggest competitor. While Olivia is accustomed to hard fights in the courtroom, she arrives in Windy Ridge and discovers there is much more to this case than the legal claims—forces of darkness are at work.

Windy Ridge quickly turns from quiet Chicago suburb to spiritual battleground, and Olivia must rely on her faith to defend against legal and spiritual attacks. Although they are enemies in the courtroom, Olivia finds a friend and unlikely ally in opposing counsel, Grant Baxter. Once a skeptic about faith, he ultimately comes to her aid when she needs it most.

The battle between evil forces heats up in and out of the courtroom, pushing Olivia to the breaking point. Will she be able to help good triumph over evil, or will the town of Windy Ridge be torn apart?

71L2nNpxBSL._UX250_.pngRachel Dylan writes Christian fiction including inspirational romantic suspense for Love Inspired Suspense and the Windy Ridge Legal Thriller series. Rachel has practiced law for almost a decade and enjoys weaving together legal and suspenseful stories. She lives in Michigan with her husband and five furkids — two dogs and three cats. Rachel loves to connect with readers. You can find Rachel at http://www.racheldylan.com.

 

My Impressions:

Corporate espionage and legal battles take on a whole new meaning when combined with spiritual warfare, and that’s what you get in Trial And Tribulations by Rachel Dylan. With fast-paced suspense and a heavy dose of chills, this novel may have you rethinking the harmlessness of New Age fads.

Two New Age companies are in legal battle over a high tech app that allows people more access to all the movement has to offer. The CEO of Optimism asserts that Astral Tech stole his files to make and market the very lucrative app. When opposing attorneys, Olivia Murray and Grant Baxter, come on the scene, the courtroom isn’t the only place where the battle occurs. Evil forces are at work in the Windy Ridge community, and there is more on the line than proprietary rights — souls are at risk as well.

Rachel Dylan is an attorney and her expertise is apparent in the legal maneuvering of the two main characters. But her writing makes it easily comprehensible to the average reader. And while the scope of the case is interesting, the real story of Trial And Tribulations is the invisible and sometimes very visible war between good and evil. Both Optimism and Astral Tech seem like innocuous companies helping people to achieve their goals and dreams. But it soon becomes apparent that the New Age philosophies they peddle are merely gateway drugs to greater evil. The danger is real and real life. This book serves as a wake-up call to the lie that it’s okay to dabble in things the Bible strictly forbids. Evil is strong, and both the human and demon proponents are determined and dangerous. But the important message that comes through loud and clear is that those who prepare and arm themselves with God’s word and prayer are stronger still. It is still true that greater is He that is in you, than he who is in the world (1 John 4:4).

There’s a bit of romance, a lot of suspense, and more to come from the characters in Trial And Tribulations. The legal case may have been settled, but Optimism and Astral Tech are not finished with Windy Ridge or faithful Christians in the community. A shocking revelation at the end opens the door for the story to continue. This book is sure to appeal to fans of Dekker and Peretti.

Recommended.

Audience: older teens and adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE.

(I received a review copy from the author. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

 

 

Advertisements

4 Responses to “Book Review: Trial And Tribulations”

  1. Susanne November 21, 2015 at 11:03 am #

    My daughter loves Dekker and Peretti. This may be under the tree for her!

    Like

  2. semicolonsherry November 21, 2015 at 11:28 pm #

    Beckie, if you like historical fiction, I wanted to tell you about the book that my pastor recently published, called We Never Stood Alone. It’s only 99 cents at Amazon right now, and worth every penny. I think you would enjoy it. Also Christian fiction, set during World War II, I found it to be a satisfying read.

    Like

    • rbclibrary November 22, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      Thanks Sherry! I’ll check it out.

      Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: