Children’s Corner: Countdown to Christmas

19 Nov

51ZrQJzjpoL._SY407_BO1,204,203,200_During the weeks before Christmas, Christian families prepare to remember the birth of Jesus. As they do, family traditions fall into place, and children get very excited about the celebration to come. Countdown to Christmas: 24 Days of the Jesse Tree Tradition allows your family to take time to know the people in the Bible and to see their connection to Jesus. To begin the tradition, set up a small 2′ – 3′ high tree in your home and read one story every night in the days before Christmas. After each story, hang an ornament to remember the biblical figures, starting with Adam and Eve and ending with Jesus. Night by night, children learn that Jesus had a family just like they do. This beautifully illustrated book will help you establish a cherished holiday tradition with your own family. Countdown to Christmas: 24 Days of the Jesse Tree Tradition includes a complete set of Jesse Tree ornaments on heavy card stock paper. Each ornament features a color illustration to match individual stories in the book. Punch out the corresponding ornament after you read each story, add a ribbon or string, and hang it on a small Christmas tree.

 

716frLh2P1L._UX250_(From the author’s Amazon page) — My name is Theresa Seidlitz, and I am the author of Countdown to Christmas: 24 days of the Jesse Tree Tradition. I am eleven-years-old, and I am part of a big family. There’s Gabriel, John, Paul, Peter, Anna, and Mom and Dad . . . seven of us all together.

I love writing! I guess the reason I like to write so much is that it gives me a chance to be creative and use my imagination. I really enjoy telling stories. Right now, I’m working on a funny book about the crazy stories of some fifth graders.

I also like to read. I probably love Archie Comics the most, although I really enjoyed a mystery book I read a few months ago called The Ring of McAllister. I also recently read The Giver, by Lois Lowry. It’s a good book, but it was very sad.

I wrote the book about the Jesse Tree partly because I wanted to see what it would be like to be an author and write a whole book! I also wanted people to know about Jesus’ family tree. I hope the book will make the Christmas season even more exciting for kids as they count down the days to Jesus’ birthday.

 

My Impressions:

Wow! What a terrific way to teach about God during the celebration of Christmas. Instead of an Advent calendar, consider using Countdown to Christmas: 24 Days of The Jesee Tree Tradition for a new and exciting family tradition. Twenty-four stories beginning with Adam and Eve and ending with the birth of Jesus tell the story of God’s plan for his people. Each story is simply written and is perfect for a joint family read-along. Instructions are given to create a family devotion and worship time each day. Small ornaments are also included to decorate a small tree focused on God rather than presents or Santa. Drawn from the eleven year old author’s (yes eleven!) own experiences celebrating with her family, this book will help families slow down and draw attention to the real reason for the season!

Recommended.

Audience: families.

To purchase this book, click HERE.

(Thanks to PR By The Book for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

