It’s Sweater Weather!

31 Oct

Courtney over at The Green Mockingbird tagged me in The Sweater Weather meme. What fun, except that I am writing the Nerd Edition! Yes, my answers forever uncover what I try so unsuccessfully to disguise — my dorky, nerdish, bookish self! So, don’t judge; you may be next!

 

 

the-sweater-weather-tag

Favorite candle scent

I recently purchased the best smelling candle from Pier One. It currently resides in my glass pumpkin on my breakfast room table. It’s called Harvest Apple and gives off the yummiest scent.

Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?

I am a tea drinker all the way — iced, hot, green, black, chai. It doesn’t matter. If it says tea, I will drink it.

What’s the best fall memory you have?

All my kids participated in sports throughout their growing up years, but my daughter extended her play into college. Soccer is played in the Fall semester — from the hot, hot days in August to the frozen tundra nights of November. Allison played at a small college in the North Georgia mountains, so I had a ring-side seat to enjoy the changing leaves. At least once or twice a week I spent watching my girl play the sport she loves with the autumn colors of the mountains as a backdrop. That is Fall!

12189604_10153739437928754_2897252784750766467_n

Young Harris College, Young Harris, Georgia

 

Best fragrance for fall

I have to go back to the Harvest Apple candle. It is the best! It reminds me of apple cider, apple cider donuts and the you pick ’em apple orchards in North Georgia.

Favorite Thanksgiving food

Hands down, Cajun fried turkey! It’s just not Thanksgiving without the fryer going, filling the air with spicy deliciousness.

Most worn sweater

Here in middle Georgia we get so few chances to wear sweaters. I’ve worn one so far this Fall. We had one day this week of mid-60s before the 80s returned in force. I do have a cozy, over-sized cable knit that I bought at the end of the season last year. I hope to wear it a few times!

Football games or jumping in leaf piles?

Okay, this is where the nerdiness emerges! My saying football games doesn’t mean the same thing as most people. My husband has season tickets for our Alma Mater. Going to football games involves a 6 hour road trip enjoying Agatha Christie audiobooks and me sitting at my brother-in-law’s condo reading while the rest of the gang is at the game. I am perfectly happy. I can watch or not watch, depending on how they are playing, sit in climate controlled bliss (did I mention I live in the South where football weather can mean monsoon rains, blazing heat or toe-numbing cold?), while reading a novel. Sounds like a perfect Saturday to me!

Skinny jeans or leggings?

Umm. Ok, I just bought my first pair of leggings since the 90s. I actually asked the salesperson if this 50-something body was a bit too old to be wearing them. And I watched the YouTube rant too. So I have some, but I make sure to cover my tail! LOL! So the real answer is skinny jeans.

Combat boots or Uggs?

Umm. Okay I can’t answer all the fashion questions like that. I’ll go with my brand new brown suede, ankle boots. Love Steve Madden!

Is pumpkin spice worth the hype?

No. Not a fan of the pumpkin.

Favorite fall TV show

Another nerdy moment here. I don’t watch much TV. SEC Network is on a lot at my house, but I don’t partake. My youngest son is taking a year off between earning his 2 BA degrees in 4 years (I’m not proud, much) and going to law school. So we have started watching Jeopardy! every night. We’re pretty good sitting there on the couch. If in doubt just guess the same answer until it’s right.

What do you want to be for Halloween?

In bed reading? Oh, you probably thought it meant a costume.

Hats or scarves?

I wear scarves as a fashion accessory not for warmth. And hats mess up my hair. A big bonus for living in the relatively balmy South during winter.

What’s your #1 favorite thing about fall?

Cooler nights and mornings. Roasting marshmallows over the fire in the backyard. Seeing family and friends.

 

Thanks Courtney for tagging me!

What’s your favorite thing about Fall?

 

4 Responses to “It’s Sweater Weather!”

  1. Suzanne Sellner October 31, 2015 at 5:27 am #

    Unlike you, I’m really a pumpkin fan–not of carved pumpkins or pumpkin-smelling things, but of things to eat made of pumpkins. I LOVE pumpkin pie, pumpkin custard, pumpkin muffins, etc. with all the traditional spices added–cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. And just like you, I hardly ever watch tv or go to sports events; however, I LOVE to read! Fall is one of four perfect seasons to read.

    Like

    • rbclibrary October 31, 2015 at 6:20 am #

      Well, we may not agree on pumpkin, but we do agree on books! Thanks so much for commenting. I always appreciate your thoughts. Now, enjoy a pumpkin spice latte with that pumpkin muffin while reading today!

      Like

  2. courtney207 October 31, 2015 at 3:45 pm #

    I loved seeing your answers. Yay for tea, apples, and reading time! I think it’s hilarious (and awesome) that you find ways to sneak in extra reading time during football. Cajun fried turkey? Sounds delish! The BEST turkey I’ve ever had on Thanksgiving was fried, so you have me there. I’m so glad you joined in the autumn fun!

    Like

    • rbclibrary November 1, 2015 at 6:56 am #

      Thanks for including me, Courtney! I love the blogging community!

      Like

Comments are closed.

