Tales from The TBR Pile: June Bug

8 Oct

This month I am featuring a book by one of my favorite authors, Chris Fabry. But alas, his book June Bug has been on my shelf a long time. Now I hear that it has been made into a Lifetime movie, titled Child of Grace! So have you read it? Let me know why I should move it up to the top of the TBR stack.

 

513RSiucgeL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_“I believed everything my daddy told me until I walked into Wal-Mart and saw my picture on a little poster . . .”

For as long as she can remember, June Bug and her father have traveled the back roads of the country in their beat-up RV, spending many nights parked at Wal-Mart. One morning, as she walks past the greeter at the front of the store, her eyes are drawn to the pictures of missing children, where she is shocked to see herself. This discovery begins a quest for the truth about her father, the mother he rarely speaks about, and ultimately herself. But when her father’s past catches up with them, forces beyond his control draw them back to Dogwood, West Virginia, down a winding path that will change their lives forever.

To purchase this book, click HERE.

81sThp08+eL._UX250_Chris Fabry is an award-winning author and radio personality who hosts the daily program Chris Fabry Live! on Moody Radio. He is also heard on Love Worth Finding, Building Relationships with Dr. Gary Chapman, and other radio programs. A 1982 graduate of the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism at Marshall University and a native of West Virginia, Chris and his wife, Andrea, now live in Arizona and are the parents of nine children.

Chris’ novels, which include Dogwood, June Bug, Almost Heaven, Not in the Heart, Borders of the Heart, and Every Waking Moment, have won three Christy Awards and an ECPA Christian Book Award, but it’s his lyrical prose and tales of redemption that keep readers returning for more.

He has also published more than 65 other books, including nonfiction and novels for children and young adults. He coauthored the Left Behind: The Kids series with Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye, as well as the Red Rock Mysteries and The Wormling series with Jerry B. Jenkins. RPM is his latest series for kids and explores the exciting world of NASCAR.

7 Responses to “Tales from The TBR Pile: June Bug”

  1. Carole October 8, 2015 at 11:06 am #

    I look forward to your thoughts on this one, Beckie. It was only with one of his later books that I discovered how much I enjoyed his writing. June Bug is somewhere in my house, either on a shelf or on my Kindle, but I don’t know when I can get to it.

    Had cataract surgery yesterday, which included a lens implant to hopefully correct my distant vision. So thankful for medical technology, because I had 20/20 vision in my left eye at this morning’s follow-up visit. But the downside is that my vision will be imbalanced until all this is completed and I get prescription reading glasses, about 7 weeks from now. Until then, I can see to drive, but reading will be a challenge!

    Like

    • rbclibrary October 8, 2015 at 2:49 pm #

      So glad your vision has improved! But oh, 7 weeks! Do you ever listen to audiobooks or use the text-to-speech on Kindle? In spite of it sounding a bit like the GPS is reading to me, I use that on my Kindle. Not sure when (I refuse to say if) I will get to June Bug. I need to make it a book club selection! Praying for a speedy and complete recovery for you. Take care!

      Like

  2. Mike Bradley October 8, 2015 at 6:22 pm #

    Thanks Beckie! I stumbled upon your blog searching for new book suggestions. This is great. I really appreciate the suggestion! Your review has swayed me. I’ll have to check out June Bug.

    I wanted to pass along one my pastor recommended to me. It’s the #1 bestseller on religious fiction, so maybe you’ve already heard of it. But I can’t stop thinking about. It’s a fantastic collection of short stories. It’s called Pieces Like Pottery. I really can’t recommend it enough. I would love to see your review of it at some point!

    Like

    • rbclibrary October 8, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion and for stopping by.

      Like

      • Mike Bradley October 9, 2015 at 5:49 am #

        Of course! Plan to stop by more often. I really enjoyed the review. Thanks again!

        Like

  3. Sue Wendt October 10, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

    I’ve read other Chris Fabry, but this one has missed me. Put a hold on it through the library system right away. Sorry I missed the movie on Lifetime. I am hoping it repeats (although I seldom watch Lifetime) and that I catch it.

    Like

    • rbclibrary October 11, 2015 at 4:23 pm #

      I missed the movie too, but I am sure they will rerun it. This one has been on my shelf for a long time. I need to make time to read it; he’s such a good author. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      Like

Comments are closed.

