August Book Club Selections

3 Aug

Here are the books my two book clubs will be reading this month. Have you read them? What did you think?

 

51ycWviNHOL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_Pearl in The Sand by Tessa Afshar. Can a Canaanite harlot who has made her livelihood by looking desirable to men make a fitting wife for one of the leaders of Israel? Shockingly, the Bible’s answer is yes.

Pearl in the Sand tells Rahab’s untold story. Rahab lives in a wall; her house is built into the defensive walls of the City of Jericho. Other walls surround her as well–walls of fear, rejection, and unworthiness.

A woman with a wrecked past; a man of success, of faith…of pride. A marriage only God would conceive! Through the heartaches of a stormy relationship, Rahab and Salmone learn the true source of one another’s worth and find healing in God.

 

51dfH32zyfL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. Penobscot Indian Molly Ayer is close to “aging out” out of the foster care system. A community service position helping an elderly woman clean out her home is the only thing keeping Molly out of juvie and worse…

As she helps Vivian sort through her possessions and memories, Molly learns that she and Vivian aren’t as different as they seem to be. A young Irish immigrant orphaned in New York City, Vivian was put on a train to the Midwest with hundreds of other children whose destinies would be determined by luck and chance.

Molly discovers that she has the power to help Vivian find answers to mysteries that have haunted her for her entire life—answers that will ultimately free them both.

Rich in detail and epic in scope, Orphan Train is a powerful novel of upheaval and resilience, of unexpected friendship, and of the secrets we carry that keep us from finding out who we are.

4 Responses to “August Book Club Selections”

  1. Suzanne Sellner August 3, 2015 at 7:57 am #

    I listened to Orphan Train on a CD or MP3 and was amazed that I had known nothing about these orphan trains in the history of the United States. The story of friendship of an elderly woman reflecting back on her life and a young woman on the brink of hers was engaging and encouraging. You’ll love the book!

    Like

    • rbclibrary August 3, 2015 at 8:28 am #

      I listened to the audio version as well. I really liked the book and like you, learned about a time in our history I didn’t know. Thanks so much for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed the book too. I am hoping my group will like it as well.

      Like

  2. Sue Wendt August 7, 2015 at 7:21 pm #

    I believe our book group read Orphan Train or perhaps I read it on my own. I did not like it quite as much as I had expected I would. The orphan trains had been the subject of several fiction books aimed at middle schoolers and so I was familiar with the topic. I guess I expected there would be more about the actual train or groups of orphans as they traveled and settled into new homes — like the books I already knew. Hope your book club has a good discussion. I did like how the two time periods connected.

    Like

    • rbclibrary August 7, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

      Sue thanks for sharing. I haven’t read any other books about that time period, so I had few expectations. I expect an interesting discussion. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Comments are closed.

