Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award

9 Jul

A big THANKS to Courtney over at The Green Mockingbird for nominating me for the Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award. How fun to share some of my favorite things.

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award Rules:

Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
Put the award logo on your blog.
Answer the ten questions sent to you.
Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
Nominate ten blogs.

 

Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Q&A

MV5BMTc5NzAwNDAyN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMjYzMDc5._V1_SY317_CR2,0,214,317_AL_1. What is your favorite book-to-movie adaptation?

I am a HUGE Jane Austen fan and like lots of the movie adaptations that have been done, but my favorite has to be Persuasion starring Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds. I love Anne’s transformation and Capt. Wentworth’s undying love.

2. What are you currently reading? (or reading next?)

I always have several books going. On audiobook I have Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta, on my Kindle I have Secrets of A Charmed Life by Susan Meissner and in paperback I have The Lost Garden by Katharine Swartz.

UnknownUnknownUnknown

3. Tea or coffee?

Definitely tea — iced or hot, green or black. Always sweetened.

images4. If you could travel (or time-travel) to your favorite book’s setting, where would you be?

My favorite book of all time is The Count of Monte Cristo, but I would NOT want to be with Edmond in prison on Chateau d’If! Maybe I would visit France in the days before Fernand’s betrayal.

5. What did you purchase the last time you visited a grocery store?

Goat cheese and french bread for an unusual crostini recipe that involved pickled blueberries. Strange flavor combos that I will probably not repeat. 😉

6. Latest celebrity crush?

Can’t say that I am crushing on anyone right now. Maybe I am too old!

images7. Do you own multiple copies of the same book? Which one(s)?

The only multiples I own are of the Bible. I love using different versions for study and teaching.

8. What is your favorite movie genre?

I love a great romantic comedy, and mysteries are great, and then so are period films . . . .  Maybe it would be easier to share least favorite genre? Westerns!

9. Have you ever been to a drive-in movie?

I actually have been to a drive-in, although they were being phased out when I was in my teens.

images10. Favorite ice cream flavor?

I went to the coolest ice cream shop in Frisco, Texas where you can choose your flavors and they make them from scratch. I thought I was being so clever and creative when I had them make marshmallow ice cream and then added a chocolate scoop as well. Mixed in nuts and chocolate pieces! Then my son said “Mom, you just made Rocky Road!” Yep, that’s my favorite!

 

So now it is some other bloggers turn to answer questions. I am nominating Karen at Karen Collier, Becky at Becky’s Book Reviews, Carole at The Power of Words, Brenda at WV Stitcher, and Sue at Thoughts from Mill Street.

Here are your questions!

1. What was your favorite book as a child?

2. Where do you spend the most time reading?

3. Favorite beverage or snack while reading?

4. Character you would like to hang out with?

5. Least favorite genre and why?

6. Author you would like to hang out with?

7. Is there a book you would love to see made into a movie?

8. Favorite activity other than reading?

9.  Favorite TV show?

10. Favorite Bible verse?

 

6 Responses to “Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award”

  1. Carole July 9, 2015 at 10:07 pm #

    Beckie, you are so kind to think of me and I am honored. It will take me a day or two, but I will have fun participating in this. Thank you so much!

    • rbclibrary July 10, 2015 at 7:07 am #

      Yay! Looking forward to your answers. I am so grateful for the friendships that I have made in the blogging world and especially thankful for yours. 🙂

  2. Rissi July 11, 2015 at 4:35 pm #

    What fun. I love Edmund’s story. Tried starting the book and its length kind of “scared” me. 😉 But the movie is amazing as a film, so there is that. Fun post. 🙂

    • rbclibrary July 11, 2015 at 4:49 pm #

      You have got to read the book because the in the movie the ending was changed! I did have fun with this. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. courtney207 July 12, 2015 at 9:09 pm #

    I’m SO glad you joined in, Beckie! And you have come up with some great questions, too!

    I have to say I’ve not watched that version of Persuasion YET. I plan to, soon. I have heard it is wonderful. (I’m not yet convinced, though, because I do like the Wentworth of the 2007 movie 🙂

    Yay for tea! I love it any way, any time.

    The Count of Monte Cristo– I really love the movie, haven’t attempted the book. But now you say the ending was changed, I may have to look into it! Which do you like better, the movie or book ending?

    And Rocky Road is always a fantastic choice!

    • rbclibrary July 13, 2015 at 6:38 am #

      Thanks, Courtney, for choosing me! This was a lot of fun. I don’t want to spoil anything, but let’s just say that the movie version ending changed the whole theme of the book. Forgiveness, not revenge is the center of The Count of Monte Cristo. And while the movie was really good, I was certainly put out with the Hollywood ending! Check out my favorite Persuasion soon, I think you will love it too! Thanks again for the nomination!

Comments are closed.

Discover more from By The Book

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading