Top 10 Tuesday: mysteries for those who like savvy not sappy stories.

10 Mar

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday thanks to The Broke And The Bookish. Click HERE to get the best recommendations from bloggers.

TTT-graphic_border-1024x940

 

This week’s theme is Top 10 Books For Readers Who_______. I love mysteries, but don’t like sappy characters or themes that involve stamp collecting or bird watching. If you are like me, here are some mystery series that feature fun, funny, and resourceful female sleuths. I am only featuring 5 series, but if you take all the books together, you have 60 books (and counting) to read.

Top 5 (60 books total) Savvy, Not Sappy, Mystery Series

 

508572Miss Zukas Mysteries by Jo Dereske. (12 books)

Helma Zukas is a bit old-fashioned and a bit OCD. As a librarian in the Pacific Northwest she trips over a lot of dead bodies. Her best friend Ruby, a flamboyant artist, keeps her on the edge. The first book in the series is titled Miss Zukas And The Library Murders.

768953Ruby Taylor Mysteries by Sharon Dunn. (3 books)

Ruby is a flaming redhead living in Montana with her ex-con turned Christian mother. Her exploits involve rustlers and cool cars. The first book in this series is Romance Rustlers And Thunderbird Thieves.

905887Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries by Carolyn Haines. (15 books)

In the first book of the series, Them Bones, Sarah Booth returns to the small Mississippi Delta town of Zinnia following a failed acting career. Desperate to save her family’s antebellum home, she kidnaps a friend’s dog for a ransom, but is soon hired to investigate the dog’s disappearance. Sarah receives help in her investigations by the ghost of a slave — a flamboyant haint with an attitude!

110327Claire Malloy Mysteries by Joan Hess. (20 books)

Claire owns a book store in a small college town in Arkansas. Her cynical outlook is fueled by her teenage daughter, Caron, and the fact that her deceased husband was cheating on her. She also has a hunky love interest in Police Detective Peter Rosen. The first book in this series is Strangled Prose.

6993996The Psalm 23 Mysteries by Debbie Viguie. (10 books)

Church secretary, Cindy, stumbles across a lot of bodies in this series. Her unlikely partner in the investigations is the Rabbi from the Temple next door, Jeremiah. Many of the books have holiday themes, but they are definitely NOT sappy. Book one is titled The Lord Is My Shepherd.

6 Responses to “Top 10 Tuesday: mysteries for those who like savvy not sappy stories.”

  1. Carole March 10, 2015 at 7:56 am #

    So glad to know that you enjoy murder mysteries, Beckie! There are so many wonderful series that I couldn’t stop at 10 – and even had trouble limiting them to 15. Of the ones on your list, I’ve read Joan Hess; she’s very good. I’ve got to find time to read Debbie Viguie; she’s in my TBR pile. And I’m making note of your other three series!

    Have you ever explored the “Stop, You’re Killing Me!” website? I could spend hours exploring there, because you can search on location, job, etc. Mysteries set in certain areas appeal to me – New England, Europe, the south, etc. – and I’ve discovered some excellent series that way.

    Like

    • rbclibrary March 10, 2015 at 9:26 am #

      I have not heard of that website, but I will definitely check it out now. Loved your list!

      Like

  2. Karen Collier March 10, 2015 at 8:35 am #

    I like what you did with this week’s theme. And as a librarian, I’m extra curious about that first series you mentioned. Thankfully, I haven’t tripped over any dead bodies like Miss Zukas!

    Like

    • rbclibrary March 10, 2015 at 9:24 am #

      I love Helma Zukas! Fun, fun series.

      Like

  3. Kay March 10, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh, you mentioned Helma Zukas. I haven’t thought about that series in years. I loved it. And I’ve read Joan Hess as well. And may I also second the advice to take a look at the website Stop You’re Killing Me! Such a good resource. I practically live there.

    Love your take on the top ten. Mine is a little different, but still always all about the mysteries.

    Like

    • rbclibrary March 10, 2015 at 3:34 pm #

      I thought I had read all of the Helma Zukas mysteries, until I researched this post. So glad there are one or two I have not read yet. I am really going to have to check out that website! Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.

