Top Ten Tuesday! I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read These Books.

3 Feb

toptentuesday

 

Thanks to The Broke And The Bookish for hosting Top 10 Tuesday. Click HERE for participating bloggers. This week’s theme —

Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t/Want To Read From X Genre

I was an English major in college for 2 reasons: 1) I wanted an excuse to read the books I wanted to read, and 2) I thought it would help me get into law school. Well I kind of accomplished number 1 and at the end of 4 years I decided to go in another direction and did not attend law school. I did read a lot of books, but there were plenty I missed. And many are still today on my TBR list. I am not even going to pretend that I really want to read all the books on my list, but I do want to read some of them. So here is my list of the Top 10 Classics I have not read.

Books I have every intention of reading.Ā 

1.Ā The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis. I really want to read all of the books in the Chronicles of Narnia, but will settle for just getting this one done. I give myself points for making sure all 3 of my children read it.

2.Ā To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I have lived my entire life in the South and have never read this one. Granted my first 18 years were spent in Florida (yes it is in the South) and classic Southern lit was not really a priority for my high school English teachers. I attended college in Mississippi and my American lit professors assumed we had read it in high school. I haven’t watched the movie, because I generally don’t watch movies until I have read the book. (Though that rule is sometimes broken. See #4). This one made last week’s list of books I’d like to read with my book club.

3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. I think this may be more achievable than War and Peace, so it is on my list.

100915158234802657

4. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I saw the movie first, and it was sooo good, so I don’t mind that I broke my rule. This book is really long (almost 1500 pages!) so I may read an abridged version. Don’t judge!

5 – 7. Lady Susan, The Watsons and Sanditon by Jane Austen. I have read all of Austen’s completed novels, but for some reason have not attempted these unfinished works. They do sit on my shelf though.

24280208729

Books I can’t believe I haven’t read and really have no intention of reading!

8. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I have read A Christmas Carol, A Tale of Two Cities and — drumrollBleak House (which I loved). I think I have done enough Dickens reading.

9. War and Peace by Tolstoy. If I read Anna Karenina, I will fulfill my Tolstoy quota. And really, this one is really long too.

10. Ulysses by James Joyce. Has anyone read this? Not even a little bit interested.

2623656338798

There you have it, my Classics list of what I haven’t read. There are many more, but I thought these hit the high points.

What can’t you believe you’ve never read?

7 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday! I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read These Books.”

  1. christine February 3, 2015 at 8:07 am #

    I haven’t heard any of these books yet but I hope you enjoy it.
    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    Like

  2. Kay February 3, 2015 at 11:59 am #

    OK, so seriously, you have to read TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. Truly. And Florida is the South as is Texas. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • rbclibrary February 3, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

      I know! Especially since Harper Lee is publishing a new book this summer! And I agree with you about Florida, especially when I was growing up in the 60s and 70s. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  3. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) February 4, 2015 at 10:04 am #

    I have a bachelor’s degree in English and I haven’t read all of these either. For shame! TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, though, you HAVE to read that one. It’s such a wonderful book. There’s a sequel coming out, so no time like the present šŸ™‚

    Like

    • rbclibrary February 4, 2015 at 10:36 am #

      I think I am going to download the audiobook of Mockingbird. Sissy Spacek is the reader! Have to get it done in time for the sequel. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Sue W. February 4, 2015 at 10:33 pm #

    I’m old enough that I read TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD and then saw the movie before everyone knew it would be a classic. Then I taught it to high school students many years later and after that my book club read it. We had a great discussion. It still remains one of my favorites and I compare every precocious child narrator to Scout! I have not read all the Jane Austen books and probably never will. I agree there are some classics that even we “book lovers” just don’t find appealing.

    Like

    • rbclibrary February 5, 2015 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks for commenting, Sue. I am looking at the audiobook of Mockingbird; it is read by Sissy Spacek. I need to get it done before the 2nd book comes out this summer. Have you been following the controversy around book 2. Not sure what to believe about it and Lee’s present circumstances.

      Like

Comments are closed.

