Top 10 Books I Would Like to Read with My Book Club

27 Jan

 

 

toptentuesday

Thanks to The Broke And The Bookish for hosting Top 10 Tuesday. To read what other bloggers want to read with their book clubs, click HERE.

Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club

What a fun topic: the books I want to read with my book club. I belong to two book clubs, and in a perfect world I would make all the selections and everyone would love them! However, our world is not perfect and while I exert great strong-arm tactics influence over our book choices, I don’t always get my way. Nor do others always agree that my choices are impeccable. The following list includes some of my favorite novels and many books I have never read, but am dying to. All are classics or contemporary literary fiction that I think would create great discussion. And as a bonus, book club is a great excuse for clearing out the Kindle or shelves of unread books! Will I ever read these with my book club? Doubtful. But one can always dream!

Here are my choices:

1. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas. This is my all-time favorite book. Ever.

2. Persuasion by Jane Austen. My 2nd all-time favorite.

3. Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis. Because it is Lewis and his re-imagining of a classic myth.

4. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. One of the first mystery novels ever written. I loved Moonstone.

71262156173435890

5. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Because I am a Southerner and have never read it. I know, I should be ashamed.

6. When Mockingbirds Sing by Billy Coffey. Coffey is a wonderful storyteller.

7. So Brave, Young and Handsome by Lief Enger. Another wonderful storyteller. Loved Peace Like A River.

 2657161241352306331

8. Gilead by Marilynne Robinson. A must read that I haven’t yet.

9. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Loved the movie, and we never read sci-fi.

10. The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell. Another must read literary novel with a sci-fi setting.

68210375802334176

So there you have it. What would you like to read with your book club?

11 Responses to “Top 10 Books I Would Like to Read with My Book Club”

  1. Christine Danielle January 27, 2015 at 8:27 am #

    All these books are new to me but I do love the covers and by the sound of it, they really seem interesting.

    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    Like

    • rbclibrary January 27, 2015 at 9:29 am #

      If you only read one from my list, make it The Count of Monte Cristo. And don’t watch the movie first. lol. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Tiffany @ Avid Reader January 27, 2015 at 10:38 am #

    Excellent choices! My book club RARELY chooses classics and it makes me sad.

    Like

    • rbclibrary January 27, 2015 at 4:12 pm #

      One of my groups reads current Christian fiction almost exclusively, which is ok since I love it. My other group is more eclectic, but we haven’t read any true classics yet. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  3. Danica Page January 27, 2015 at 11:49 am #

    Since I’m an English major, I love all of these books. I discuss these books in class all the time. It’s great. Good to know you like these books as well.

    Thanks for sharing.

    I accidentally did next week’s post on accident, but still check it out please. mine’s here

    Like

    • rbclibrary January 27, 2015 at 4:10 pm #

      I too was an English major — many, many, many years ago. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I will make sure to check out your post. I am already working on next week’s list.

      Like

  4. rabbitearsblog January 28, 2015 at 3:32 am #

    Great list! I need to check all of those books out! Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday list:

    https://rabbitearsblog.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/top-ten-tuesday-5-top-10-books-i-would-use-in-my-rabbit-ears-book-club/

    Like

  5. Karen Collier January 28, 2015 at 4:46 pm #

    Lots of classics in your list! It does seem like many of the classics tend to make for good discussions, with lots to talk about. 🙂 It’s been a while since I read it, but I loved Ender’s game (both the book and the movie). As I recall, the book goes a lot more into Ender’s thinking and strategy than the movie did, which I thought was pretty fascinating.

    Like

    • rbclibrary January 28, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

      Karen, now I really need to read Ender’s Game! I’m hoping to get some classics on Page Turners’ list. I think our discussions would benefit. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

Comments are closed.

