Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop!

1 Jul

Thanks to Bookhounds and I Am A Reader, Not a Writer for hosting the Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop. Lots of bloggers are giving away books and bookish stuff. To find all the participants, click HERE. The hop runs July 2nd through July 9th.

 

Freedom-to-Read-Hop

 

To celebrate I am giving away a copy of Jocelyn Green’s Widow of Gettysburg, an historical novel that explores the true meaning of freedom. To enter, just leave me a comment. The winner will be chosen by random number generator and will be notified by July 11. Good luck!

 

405777When a horrific battle rips through Gettysburg, the farm of Union widow Liberty Holloway is disfigured into a Confederate field hospital, bringing her face to face with unspeakable suffering–and a Rebel scout who awakens her long dormant heart.

While Liberty’s future crumbles as her home is destroyed, the past comes rushing back to Bella, a former slave and Liberty’s hired help, when she finds herself surrounded by Southern soldiers, one of whom knows the secret that would place Liberty in danger if revealed.

In the wake of shattered homes and bodies, Liberty and Bella struggle to pick up the pieces the battle has left behind. Will Liberty be defined by the tragedy in her life, or will she find a way to triumph over it?

Widow of Gettysburg is inspired by first-person accounts from women who lived in Gettysburg during the battle and its aftermath.

43 Responses to “Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop!”

  1. susanlulu2013 July 1, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

    I’ve had this book on my wishlist. I like the summary of the book, the storyline, and the characters. Hope to win.
    susanlulu@yahoo.com

    Like

  2. Sonja July 1, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    This looks like a really interesting historical novel. I would love it! Nice cover, also

    Like

  3. Lisa Stifler July 1, 2014 at 7:40 pm #

    I would love a chance to win this book. I have been to Gettysburg many times. I love reading books based on the Civil War. This sounds like a wonderful book! ~ blessings~

    Like

  4. Courtney Whisenant July 1, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

    Great book choice! I love historical fiction from the civil war time period πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. John Dallal July 2, 2014 at 8:13 am #

    Widow of Gettysburg looks like a terrific read! Count me in for the drawing. Thanks.

    Like

  6. Connie Hendryx July 2, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    Thanks for the giveaway! Looks like a great book!

    Like

  7. Rayleigh Ann July 2, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

    I have the first book in this series and have been wanting to read this one! Look forward to it!
    ragdogs(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Like

  8. Amanda Ray July 2, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    This sounds like a very interesting read- thank you for the chance

    Like

  9. Anita Yancey July 2, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

    This book sounds amazing. I love reading books about this time period in history, and if they contain secrets that just makes them more interesting.
    ayancey1974(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  10. Katie Amanda July 2, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    Looks like a great read. Thanks!

    Like

  11. Nancy July 2, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

    This is a bit out of my norm. Sounds interesting, thanks.

    Like

  12. isisthe12th July 2, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

    I love these historical reads. Thank you for the great freedom to read hop.

    Like

  13. Rachael K July 2, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    Jocelyn Green is a brilliant author – I love all the detail in her books. Thanks so much for the opportunity to win!

    Like

  14. rchristo July 2, 2014 at 8:19 pm #

    I would love to read this book! Looks great! Thank you! robin(dot)christofaro(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  15. bn100 July 2, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    Interesting blurb

    Like

  16. tfs93 July 2, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

    I have never heard of this book. I enjoy historical fiction.

    Like

  17. Lori H July 2, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

    I haven’t read this book yet and it sounds like a good one πŸ™‚
    Thanks

    Like

  18. Michelle July 3, 2014 at 8:14 am #

    I wonder what the secret, that could place Liberty in danger, is.

    Like

  19. Merry July 3, 2014 at 3:53 pm #

    I would love to read this book. Thanks for the chance.

    Like

  20. BookLady July 3, 2014 at 7:52 pm #

    What a fascinating book! I enjoy historical fiction and have always been interested in reading about the Civil War. Thanks for the great giveaway!

    Like

  21. Shannon Greathouse (@Majecscontesttx) July 3, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    I am very interested in reading historical novels. I haven’t read one in a while, and this one sounds very good.

    Like

  22. Heather B July 4, 2014 at 8:18 am #

    Happy 4th of July! Have heard a lot about this book would love to read it.

    Like

  23. craftybooksheeps July 4, 2014 at 10:06 am #

    I recently won book 2 in the series and would love to read the first one! I have a lady in my church who loves civil war novels so I know she would like this one too!

    Like

  24. Literary Winner (@LiteraryWinner) July 4, 2014 at 1:39 pm #

    This book looks great! I hadn’t heard of it before this post but now I really want to read it.

    maggie at literary winner dot com

    Like

  25. ladymagnolia99 July 4, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    Thanks for your giveaway. I love historical romance genre books, mainly because that was the first books that I started reading along time ago. This one looks like a very good read.

    Judy Cox

    Like

  26. Holly Letson July 5, 2014 at 1:34 am #

    Sounds like a good story, and has a pretty cover! Thanks for the chance.

    bookaholicholly at gmail dot com

    Like

  27. LB July 5, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  28. Lisa F. (@Bookworm_Lisa) July 5, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

    This sounds like a wonderful book to read.

    Like

  29. Anna Weaver Hurtt July 5, 2014 at 10:43 pm #

    I loved the first of this series. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  30. Susie Sellner July 6, 2014 at 3:44 pm #

    I’ve really enjoyed the Christian historical fiction books I’ve read recently–most about WWII but also about other periods and settings. The Widow of Gettysburg sounds intriguing, and I’d love to read it.

    Like

  31. Andrea Williams July 6, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

    Great book! Would love to read it.

    Like

  32. Amanda Stephan July 7, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    The Widow of Gettysburg – yep. I’m intrigued and would love to read it. Thanks for the fun! kjv1611as at gmail dot com

    Like

  33. Jenny Stanek July 7, 2014 at 9:32 am #

    Hello, I hope you have a wonderful week!!

    Like

  34. Ashley Jellison July 7, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    Well this will be added to my wishlist. The cover, title and summary are all great. Thanks for being a stop:)

    Like

  35. Misha Estrada July 7, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    I love historical novels.

    Like

  36. Daniel M July 7, 2014 at 6:11 pm #

    Happy 4th of July and thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  37. Helena Ferrell July 7, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

    Thank you for the chance! It looks like a great read. ❀

    Pinkspo0n@outlook.com

    Like

  38. Salyna Gyger July 7, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

    Thank you for the giveaway and happy late 4th!

    Like

  39. 1HappyDay July 8, 2014 at 8:38 am #

    This looks really good, I will have to add it to my wishlist if I don’t win!

    Like

  40. Donna M. Clark July 9, 2014 at 10:55 am #

    This book looks like one I would really enjoy reading. Thank you for having this giveaway.

    Like

  41. Mia J July 9, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

    This sounds like a good book. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  42. kelley roach July 9, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    Thanks for the giveaway! Looks like a great book!

    Like

  43. Alisha Sienkiel July 9, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

    Thanks for the chance! This looks like an interesting historical fiction.
    sienkiel1821 at yahoo dot com

    Like

Comments are closed.

