Book Review: What Follows After

9 Apr

721201In October 1962, Colt Harrison and his little brother, Timmy, hatched a plan. They would run away from their Florida home, head for their aunt’s house in Savannah, Georgia, and refuse to come home until their parents got back together. But things go terribly, terribly wrong. Colt’s mother and father must come to grips with years of neglect and mistrust in order to recover their beloved sons, their love for one another, and their broken marriage.

 

 

dan-picAbout Dan Walsh (from Amazon):

I was born in Philadelphia in 1957 (guys don’t care if you know) to a mostly blue-collar, hard-working Irish family. My Dad was the first person on either side of the family to earn a college degree. It took him nine years, working during the day, going to college at night, using the GI Bill from his war days in Korea. In the mid-sixties, General Electric hired him as an engineer for the Apollo space program. We packed up and moved to Florida, which is really where I grew up.

I spent my childhood years playing basketball and surfing. In the spring of my senior year in high school I met the woman who would become my wife, Cindi. We dated for a brief period. I asked her to marry me and, to my great surprise, she said yes. We were married near the end of 1976. We have two children, now grown.

The desire to write novels first began in high school. But I didn’t have the time to pursue this passion until 2007. To find out more, visit my website at http://www.danwalshbooks.com.

 

My Impressions:

Dan Walsh has been called the Christian Nicholas Sparks. Although I am not a fan of Sparks, I can see why that comparison has been made. But in my opinion, Walsh is head and shoulders above Sparks, mostly because he writes things that are true according to God’s word. In his latest novel, What Follows After, he has created a story that combines history, suspense and family drama and kept me reading and hoping until the last page. The novel is filled with believable characters, real-life situations and a quiet faith message that is also powerful. If you are a fan of Nicholas Sparks, put his novel down and go get What Follows After.

October 1962 was remarkable for the event in American history known as the Cuban Missile Crisis. But for the Harrisons of Daytona Beach, Florida it represented an important turning point for their family. Determined to stop lying about his family’s situation and bring about the reconciliation of his parents, Colt convinces his little brother, Timmy, to run away to their aunt and uncle’s home. Colt reasons that his parents will have to face up to their problems and make a change to restore their life. But what seemed like a good plan for an eleven year old, turns out to be a parent’s worse nightmare when 5 year old Timmy is kidnapped. The country is distracted by the face-off between America and the Soviets and the FBI is short-handed, so what would normally be a huge news story and police action, becomes a story on page 3 or 4.

Walsh does a good job of characterization in What Follows After. The story begins with now grown and retired, Colt, traveling back to the place Timmy was found. His childhood trauma is still very much with him and he has to deal with emotions long buried. Both grown-up Colt and eleven year old Colt are well-drawn and developed, as are the other characters, especially Colt’s father, Scott. Real emotions, attitudes and reactions are presented. And just because the story is set in 1962, don’t think what the Harrison family goes through isn’t relevant today. There is a lot of emotional and spiritual growth going on. The only negative I had with the story was the conversation Scott has with brother-in-law, Mike. Although I agree with everything Mike says, the presentation seems a bit stilted. However the story, the faith message and the great job of capturing America in the early 60s more than make up for that.

Another good book from an author that has become a favorite.

Recommended.

(Thanks to Revell for my review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

To purchase this book, click on the image below.

2 Responses to “Book Review: What Follows After”

  1. Carole April 11, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    I’m fixing to start this one, Beckie, and I loved your review. I was 15 years old in 1962, so I’m really looking forward to it. Can you believe this will be my first Dan Walsh book?!

    Like

    • rbclibrary April 11, 2014 at 5:53 pm #

      I hope you enjoy it. My favorite so far is The Discovery. Check that one out next.

      Like

Comments are closed.

