Book Review: Pups of The Spirit

26 Mar

684096dc42fb0584dd78725f_396x334“God gave each puppy a gift of its own, and PUPS OF THE SPIRIT is how they are known!” Peanut is patient, and Kay is so kind. Each of these nine loveable puppies has a special trait to help them grow closer to God. From love and joy to patience and kindness, children will have fun learning about the fruits of the spirit with these playful and cuddly companions.

 

DSC_8378Deborah Melmon, Illustrator (from her website) I am a free-lance illustrator, living and working in the San Francisco Bay Area. I knew I was going to be an artist when I created a paper mache lion in the eighth grade that grew so large, it had to be transported home in the trunk of my parent’s Oldsmobile…with the lid up!

After graduating from Academy of Art University in San Francisco, I started my career illustrating covers for the Palo Alto Weekly. Since then I have produced artwork for picture books, cookbooks, magazines, educational publications and currently license my artwork on giftwrap, greeting cards and fabric.

I work digitally in Photoshop after scanning in my traditional artwork which is created in ink, watercolor and pencil.

I share my studio with an energetic Airedale Terrior named Mack, who makes sure my passion for illustrating is balanced with lots of long walks and outdoor activities.

 

My Impressions:

Cute and colorful illustrations and rhyming prose are the features of Pups of The Spirit illustrated by Deborah Melmon. Each of the adorable nine puppies are gifted with the characteristics found in Galatians 5:22-23 — love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control — and are great examples of what it looks like to live a life filled with the fruit of the Spirit. For kids ages 4-7, this book is a perfect way for parents to share the importance of living a life that pleases God. There is even a poster to decorate a bedroom or playroom!

Recommended.

(Thanks to Zonderkidz for my review copy. All opinions are mine alone.)

To purchase this book, click on the image below.

 

