Book Review: Dangerous Passage

14 Mar

721904When two Jane Does are killed on the outskirts of Atlanta, Georgia, detective and behavioral specialist Avery North discovers they share something in common–a tattoo of a magnolia on their shoulders. Suspecting a serial killer, Avery joins forces with medical examiner Jackson Bryant to solve the crimes and prevent another murder. But it doesn’t take long for them to realize that there is much more to the case than meets the eye. As they venture deep into a sinister world of human trafficking, Avery and Jackson are taken to the very edge of their abilities–and their hearts.

harrislisAward-winning author Lisa Harris has been writing both fiction and nonfiction since 2000 and has twenty novels and novellas in print. She currently lives with her family in Mozambique, where they work as missionaries. Visit her website at http://www.lisaharriswrites.com and her blog at http://www.myblogintheheartofafrica.blogspot.com.

My Impressions:

Dangerous Passage by Lisa Harris is By The Book’s March selection and is just the type of novel my book club loves — a romantic suspense set just up the road from us in Atlanta. We will discuss this on Friday night. Have you read it? Let us know what you think.

Avery North is a police detective with a lot on her plate. A widow raising a preteen daughter and investigating her brother’s murder in her off hours, Avery has a lot to balance. Now her days are filled with another murder investigation and the attentions of medical examiner Jackson Bryant. Add to that some troubling information about human trafficking and family drama, and you get a complex, interesting and endearing character. Dangerous Passage is fast-paced, challenging the reader to keep up with the twists and turns of the case and Avery’s life. And not all of the mysteries are resolved, making this reader eager for book 2, Fatal Exchange.

Fans of Terri Blackstock or DiAnn Mills will like Harris’ style. Although the plot is strong, this novel’s strength is its characterizations. The reader comes to care about her characters just as much as wanting to find out just whodunit. I am looking forward to the thoughts of my group on this one. I, for one, enjoyed it.

Recommended. 

(I purchased the ebook version of this book for my Kindle. The opinions expressed are mine alone.)

To purchase Dangerous Passage, click on the image below.

Advertisements

5 Responses to “Book Review: Dangerous Passage”

  1. Lisa Harris March 15, 2014 at 1:47 am #

    Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed Dangerous Passage and I appreciate so much your spreading the word! Hope that your book club discussion went well. I wish I could have been a fly on the wall and listen in. LOL Happy reading! Lisa Harris

    Like

    • rbclibrary March 15, 2014 at 7:06 am #

      We all liked the book. But . . . we think (and are hoping) that Avery’s brother is really alive! One of our members already has book 2 for pre-order. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Like

      • Lisa Harris March 16, 2014 at 10:59 am #

        So glad you all liked the story! All I can say is. . .there will be a few twists and turns in the next two books as far as the Hunt family is concerned. 🙂 Enjoy!

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2014 Christy Award Nominees | BY THE BOOK - April 16, 2014

    […] Dangerous Passage by Lisa Harris (Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group) […]

    Like

  2. Book Review: Fatal Exchange | BY THE BOOK - May 12, 2014

    […] and dirty cops are the elements of the very believable plot line. I liked book 1 in the series, Dangerous Passage, but I really liked Fatal Exchange. And while it can be read as a standalone, I would recommend the […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: