Book Review: Emergency Care

11 Mar

9781490814001_p0_v1_s260x420In Mexico, Hurricane Bertha flattened tobacco crops and coffee bean fields and demolished entire villages. Then suddenly she turned northward – a surprising act that had not been foreseen by meteorologists. After twelve hours, the winds that had reached 180 miles per hour would slow, and the storm would die. But before that, Bertha would terrorize the unsuspecting residents of a South Texas hospital and the bank robbers holding them hostage. It is a toss-up whether nurse Sidney Shelton is more afraid of the thugs or the hurricane. For hours the captors threaten and brutalize the hostages. Sidney wonders whether they will be dead or alive when the robbers leave. What can she do to protect her six-year-old son and friends from harm? God sends her unexpected help from a Mexican cop and a soldier with post-traumatic stress disorder.

Linda_Owen_027-resizedWith professional writing experience spanning 37 years, Linda Owen is a full time writer, photographer and seminar speaker. She has had a varied career including teaching, journalism and ministery. She loves to share her knowledge of the Bible. She makes her home in San Antonio, Texas. Emergency Care is her first novel.

My Impressions:

If you like your suspense fast-paced with non-stop action and surprise twists, then check out Emergency Care, the debut novel by Linda Owen. With a definite edgy tone, this novel is a quick read that packs a clear spiritual message.

Four dangerous men make their way to a small Texas town near the Mexican border trying to elude the police after a murder and bank robbery. An accident puts them in the ER of the local hospital along with a small holiday staff and a hurricane bearing down on them. They take the patients and staff hostage and try to ride out the storm, but events are soon out of their control.

There are a number of surprises in store for the reader of Emergency Care. Just when you think you know what is going to happen next, Owen throws a curve ball to ramp up the adrenaline. The medical setting, the hurricane and the desperate men all combine to provide heart-thumping drama. This is a plot driven novel, but the reader cannot help becoming invested in some of the characters’ lives. Fortunately, Owen does a good job of wrapping up the story after the storm has passed. There is also a strong spiritual thread featuring forgiveness and healing. Only one scene seems out of place, but overall, I think the author did a good job of portraying the truth of God’s love and care for people. As I said, this is an edgy novel. Never graphic, it does contain some violence and adult situations, but no profanity. A good choice for fans of Brandilyn Collins or Steven James. The writer also includes discussion questions for book clubs and theological questions for personal reflection or group discussion.

Recommended.

(Thanks to Linda Owen for a review copy. The opinions expressed are mine alone.)

To purchase a copy of this book, click on the image below. The Kindle version is just $1.99.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: