National Reading Day!

23 Jan

I don’t really need an official day to prompt me to read, but I do like that I have official support of taking all the free time today to indulge in my favorite pastime. So what are you reading today to celebrate? I am finishing Cara Putman‘s novel, Shadowed by Grace, an historical romance set in WWII Italy. Leave me a comment on what you are currently reading. Also, what are you doing to encourage literacy in your community? I would love to hear all the creative ways that people use to promote reading.

NRD-LOGO1

National Reading Day is an annual event which celebrates and encourages reading by younger children. National Reading Day is celebrated in thousands of schools all around the United States. This literacy event is designed to help Pre-K through Third Grade students develop the literacy foundation they need to become lifelong learners. Schools, libraries, nonprofit groups, and parents participate in a variety of activities with younger readers on National Reading Day.

