Book Review: Hidden Falls: Ordinary Secrets (Episode 1)

16 Jan

Hidden-Falls-Ep1-262x400Thirty years of small-town secrets — now the key to the mystery is gone. The small town of Hidden Falls is abuzz. Former students, friends, and loved ones are prepping for tonight’s big event to honor Ted Quinn’s many years of compassionate service. Quinn is reluctant about a night in the spotlight–but is tenderly prodded by Sylvia, mayor of Hidden Falls and Quinn’s dearest friend and confidante. Ethan and Nicole won’t let the shadows of their pasts stop them from returning to Hidden Falls–but only for Quinn–no matter how much it hurts. Liam, a former student, and Jack, a town newcomer, are both hoping the night works toward their own gain–or, if they’ll admit it, their chance for redemption. Like Quinn, Dani and Lauren are mainstays in Hidden Falls. They keep close to home–and have secrets to keep close, too.



Olivia-NewportOlivia Newport’s novels twist through time to discover where faith and passions meet. Her husband and two adult children provide welcome distraction from the people stomping through her head on their way into her books. She chases joy in stunning Colorado at the foot of the Rockies, where daylilies grow as tall as she is.


My Impressions:

Hidden Falls by Olivia Newport is a serialized novel with 13 episodes. Beginning January 24, you will be able to download the ebooks weekly for a total of 13 episodes (audiobook versions will also be available). While not a new concept (Charles Dickens’s works were serialized), this is certainly a new venture in today’s publishing world. Hidden Falls is a mystery novel, and this genre works well with serialization. In Ordinary Secrets the reader meets the main characters, and secrets and mysteries are introduced. Newport does a good job with the characters — we begin to see their personalities and motivations. And of course, the first installment leaves the reader wanting more. I am looking forward to each week’s visit to Hidden Falls.

Hidden Falls: Ordinary Secrets (Episode 1)
Hidden Falls: Losing Quinn (Episode 2)
Hidden Falls: A Town in Trouble (Episode 3)
Hidden Falls: Unexpected Hero (Episode 4)
Hidden Falls: The Mayor’s Quandary (Episode 5)
Hidden Falls: No Time for Answers (Episode 6)
Hidden Falls: Yesterday’s Promise (Episode 7)
Hidden Falls: All You Need to Know (Episode 8)
Hidden Falls: A Fair Refuge (Episode 9)
Hidden Falls: One Familiar Tune (Episode 10)
Hidden Falls: When Memory Came (Episode 11)
Hidden Falls: The Groundskeeper Remembered (Episode 12)
Hidden Falls: Distinguishing Marks (Episode 13)

To download Episode 1, click HERE.

There is a BIG, BIG giveaway with the release of this series, click HERE for details.

(Thanks to Handlebar Publishing for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine.)


%d bloggers like this: