Book Review: Without A Trace

29 Feb

The book assigned to me this month by my Roundtable group is Without A Trace by Colleen Coble.  One of her older books (2003), Coble’s novel is the first in the Rock Harbor series set in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

 

When a plane crash claims her husband and son, Bree Nichols and Samson, her search-and-rescue dog, won’t rest until they recover the bodies. But quiet Rock Harbor is shaken by a violent crime, and Bree discovers links to her husband’s fatal accident. Would solving this crime bring her peace—or more incredibly, reunite her family?

 

Best-selling author Colleen Coble‘s novels have won or finaled in awards ranging from the Best Books of Indiana, ACFW Book of the Year, RWA’s RITA, the Holt Medallion, the Daphne du Maurier, National Readers’ Choice, and the Booksellers Best. She has nearly 2 million books in print and writes romantic mysteries because she loves to see justice prevail. Colleen is CEO of American Christian Fiction Writers and is a member of Romance Writers of America. She lives with her husband Dave in Indiana.

Visit her website at www.colleencoble.com. Twitter @colleencoble.

 

My Impressions:

I just read and reviewed Coble’s latest historical romance, Blue Moon Promise, and liked it.  My book club also read the first book in her Aloha Reef series, Distant Echoes, a few years back and we all loved it.  So I was excited to start Without A Trace.  I liked it okay, but I didn’t experience the book love I had with the other two books.

Bree Nicholl’s is a SAR dog handler in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.   But her life took a tragic turn a year ago when her husband and young child were killed in a plane accident.  The plane was never recovered, so Bree is obsessed with finding the crash site to put her grief to rest.  The murder of a friend sets her on the trail of a killer who may have connections to the  crash.

Coble reveals a lot to the reader that the characters are not aware of.  We know secrets that Bree doesn’t and much of the tension in the book is related to the uncovering of the clues by the characters.  As I said, this book was just okay to me.  I had trouble connecting to the characters.  But I would not hesitate to read the other books in this series.  I like Coble’s writing that much.  If you like romantic suspense, try Without A Trace.

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

