Cozy In Kansas by Nancy Mehl

26 Nov

Murder, Mayhem, and Marriage Proposals in One Cozy Collection!

Running a small, rare bookstore in Winter Break, Kansas-a town so small they don’t even have their own gas station-may sound peaceful. But Winter Break’s eclectic citizens have their secrets. Ivy Tower’s nose for mystery propels her into adventure and danger in this three-book collection of stories that will keep readers guessing until the very end!

Sample chapter

I hope everyone who reads my books will walk away with the most important message I can give them: God is good, and He loves you more than you can imagine.

Nancy Mehl lives in Wichita, Kansas with her husband Norman and her son, Danny. She’s authored nine books and is currently at work on her newest series for Barbour Publishing.

All of Nancy’s novels have an added touch – something for your spirit as well as your soul. “I welcome the opportunity to share my faith through my writing,” Nancy says. “It’s a part of me and of everything I think or do. God is number one in my life. I wouldn’t be writing at all if I didn’t believe that this is what He’s called me to do. I hope everyone who reads my books will walk away with the most important message I can give them: God is good, and He loves you more than you can imagine. He has a good plan especially for your life, and there is nothing you can’t overcome with His help.”

She and her husband attend Believer’s Tabernacle in Wichita.

My Impressions:

I love cozy mysteries and I love books — Nancy Mehl’s 3 novel edition, Cozy in Kansas, is a perfect combination of the two.  Ivy Towers, a 20-something college student comes to Winter Break after her Aunt Bitty dies. Inheriting a book store is not in her or her parents plans.  But Ivy loves the small town of Winter Break, Kansas, the bookstore and a certain sheriff’s deputy, not necessarily in that order.  Throughout the three books, Ivy stumbles upon one mystery and one body after another.  In one scene, Ivy reflects on the similarities between her life and that of Jessica Fletcher from Murder She Wrote!

If you like a down-home mystery with quirky characters and a spiritual message running throughout, check out Cozy in Kansas.

Also in the series, perfect for holiday reading, is There Goes Santa Claus.

IVY TOWERS-TUCKER IS LOOKING FORWARD TO HER FIRST CHRISTMAS AS A MARRIED WOMAN. . . .

But a few days before December 25, Ivy and her husband Amos are awakened by noises on their rooftop. Amos’s joke that Santa Claus must have arrived early loses its humor when a body goes flying past their second-story window. A look outside reveals two legs covered in red velvet trousers and black boots sticking out of a snow bank! Ivy and Amos are even more surprised to find they belong to a dead man dressed as Santa Claus. The story circulates quickly through the small town of Winter Break that Ivy and Amos have killed Santa. Who is the dead man and why was he on their roof? Ivy has a Christmas mystery to solve that will bring a satisfying conclusion to the Ivy Towers Mystery series.

2 Responses to “Cozy In Kansas by Nancy Mehl”

  1. TheBookGirl November 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    This is one of the best things about the book blogosphere — I found out about books that sound perfect for me, and that I had not known about before 🙂
    Thanks for highlighting this set of three!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. November Book Reviews « BY THE BOOK - December 2, 2010

    […] Cozy in Kansas by Nancy Mehl […]

Comments are closed.

Discover more from By The Book

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading